Shopping baby, yeah baby yeah!!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 14th 2004
Published: July 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Well it has been one hell of a trip - I leave tmr at 10PM back to the mother land.  The 1st night in Koh San was a blur but I have to admit, I'm having a blast the last 3 days here in Bangkok.  Maybe it's b/c I am so carefree with no time table to worry about knowing I'm leavign in 3 days and just splurging.
Speaking of splurging, I am on Koh San and I walked by this massage/healing/aromatherapy joint and basically went for the Platnium package.  I must of spent 3 hours in there getting every square inch of my body attended to.  I am such a huge bietch today, afterwards I am walking down Koh San smelling like a bed of flowers and feeling like a million bucks.  Okay it's the middle of the day now so let's hit MBK, this mall is massive.  It toke me a good hour to figure out how the escalators work here, they follow no logic, except you can get lost on one floor having to walk back and forth till you find an another escalator taht goes up then the process repeats itself.  I think they do it on purpose so you end up walking by the same store a few times and buy stuff which sorta worked.
I am hoping they have dudes that carry your bags for you b/c I had so much stuff.  I decided to ship my 4 swords back so yeah baby, I got another 15Kg now of shopping I can do.  The MBK mall is way better then shopping on Koh San, b/c there is so much more selection and you can try on the clothes.  Koh San market is cool if you want to do quick lookies and buy the odd fisherman pants but if you really want to go hardcore with shopping you come to MBK.  This place has it all, I have designated 2 days of shopping here, hell right now i'm still at the mall writing this.  I haven't lefted like since 10AM, it's like a little fortress here, hell I should just sleep on the bench and wake up and do more shopping.
There's a couple of weird things you should know before coming here.
1.  There is like 30 cell phone stores on this one level, I got trapped in there and couldn't get out.  I think I must of developed some rectal cancer now from all those wirless wave bouncing off me.  30 Cell phone stores, what is up with that. 
2.  The washroom you have to pay for which is standard but what I wasn't use to is the clean up girl there all the time, standing beside you cleaning out the next urinal while i'm doing my business. 
3. Oh and if you want to get a cab, you have to line up at the taxi line-up while this dude cordinates everything but he has a big baton...I guess it's to crack some guy in the head if he jumps in line...
I'll stop there, there's too much to list...but
Oh you can also barter with ppl here too...man i love it....i wish i can do that at pacific mall back home.  So I'm goign crazy on the shopping, now I know why girls like shopping so much - just buying everything to my heart content.  It got to the point I couldn't carry anymore adn had to retreat back to HQ and dump all the stufff off and come back for round 2.  I get here and ended up meowing down...I ended up going to 2 restuarants, I think the waiter thought I must of had a serious worm in my stomach b/c the other resturant was right next over.  Ate so much it incapacitated me and I wasn't able to shop so I bought a movie ticket.
I am trying to aviod Koh San tonight b/c last night I got so wasted on these 50 baut cocktails.  Yeah 50 baut and they are not watered down.  HOw awesoem is that, $1.25 for a bloody drink.  Needless to say the rounds kept coming.  I ended up trying to learn swetish from Helen who was trying to draw me a map of sweden with  peanuts  Turned out I know nothing about their country except markus naslund and their cute accents but she was quick to correct me, it's not accent it's language..
We went so geek out on one another b/c she's also in IT which suprised me b/c hell this is the first cute IT girl I have ever met.  Usually all the ones I meet are from China and have bad breathe.  Koh San is an interesting place b/c you really can have a blast by yourself.   You could be sitting there havign a drink and next thign you know it, you are bar hopping with ppl you don't know and dancign to crappy music but still having a good time. And of course the 50 buat killer drinks. 
I reckon 3 days is perfect to say in Bangkok for those who plan to come here.  It's abit sad today b/c adrian and anna lefted last night.  Roman and Corneilus are lefted today but it was good I was able to party with them last night.  Corneilius is a total Orlando bloom look alike....you can slap soem elve ears on him and he can seriously pass for him. 
So now I'm officially the last person standing, everyone has either gone back home or left to another country....gotta run and catch I robot..
Baggins out
 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0552s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb