2 more days in Asia!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 16th 2006
Published: September 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well times a tickin over here and I have 2 more days to shop and some last minute exploring to fit in!!
I arrived back in Bangkok at 4:30am in the morning....ugh! And took a nap (obviously)....than i've just been exploring around....and by exploring I mean getting lost and finding things!! But I found this Golden Mount (apparantly not a mountAIN) and got a 360 view over the city....and than a flower market and some other random things like an excersize park with about 200 randoms doing aerobics 70's style! Nice! Today I did some good shopping at this weekend market.....but it felt like I was fighting for 3 hours getting elbowed and elbowing people myself!! Not too pleasant. Came back to where I'm staying...spent more money...went to the bank again! And now I had to come in here to this cafe so I would stop spending money!!

As for Ko Tao I had sooo much fun!! My day of snorkeling was literally a full day of snorkeling..hours and hours and many many bays of swimming and after a the 5th hour I was like okay okay already....there's fish and the water is really blue...I know!! But it did the job to get me ready for my open water scuba diving course!!
I was a little nervous i'll admit to do the whole breathing under water thing, but it turned out to be amazing and addicting!! It took 3 and a half days....watched some corny videos and ead a text book (it had been too long since I read one of those) and some quizes!! Every afternoon we went out diving....first one was all skills and practicing things....second day was a little more relaxed and the third day was fun because we didn't have to do as much work. I had the instructor all to myself because it's a little slow for them in September which was fine by me because I felt better having all the attention and having her check only me all the time!! And we could do it in 3 and a half instead of 4 and a half days! I took a day of rest after that and than did a "fun" dive...so they call it as a certified open water diver (sounds impressive doesn't it).....and it was exactly that!! No skills and not as many worries!! Although all the other dives have been near the coast or an island and this time we were going to the middle of nowhere and I asked her where it was and she's like where those boats are out there....Literally in the middle of nowhere (one of my worst fears) and she said there's going to be some reef sharks...WHHHAAATTT!!! (my second fear about water that coincides with the first one!) Yikes!! But it ended up amazing and one of the best 45 minutes of my life!! Huge schools of fish and yes some sharks (think I used extra air in my tank from those sightings) and fun big corals and other such fun things and Nemo's cousin who is pink and purple swimming around the anenomies!! We did a second dive that morning and did some fun swims through small arch ways and small caves!! Excellent, excellent morning!!
Took another day off and than the next day did another dive in the morning but it was not as enjoyable!! We again went to the middle of nowhere and then went down to 20 meters (the maximum I can go with my liscence) and the other people could go to 30m.....so me stuck at 20 hit ALL of the current and it was so strong I wasn't even moving...slightly going backwards and getting quite frightened actually.....didn't see much because I was a nervous wreck and we had to end the dive early because it was too hard. We ended up really far from the boat and had to swim at the surface.......and i'll remind you we're in the middle of nowhere and i'd rather be swimming under the water than wondering on top what's below!! I was a little scared and kicked like hell in very big waves back to the boat!! I decided not to do the second dive because the first dive put me off and tired me out. Soo that's about it....a week and a bit went really quickly on that island....took another day off and than I was off to Bangkok the next! Said my goodbye's to turquois water and white sandy beaches!!

3 more sleeps till Sydney!! Sooo excited!!

(ps. I had to change accomodation quite a few times in Ko Tao but this one time was because there was a one and a half foot long gecko (normally the ones in your room are only a couple of inches) staying in my bathroom and I'd have to inspect it every time I needed to go in to see it's whereabouts and I couldn't find it once because it was right OVER my head winking at me!! AHHH!! I screamed and than it slithered off into my ceiling......I was out at 8am the next morning!!)
(pss. When I was stuck in the current there I was in a school of fish also caught in the current and I think.....almost positive.....pretty sure....I made eye contact with one of the fish close to my mask and we shared a thought like holy shit...this it tough work!! Swear to god that's a true story) The good thing about my situation was I could go up but that poor little guy has to fight it all day every day!!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb