'Splore Bangers


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 19th 2005
Published: June 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Only nine months after I arrived here, I have finally decided to embark upon a Splore Bangers mission. My rule is to go to somewhere new or do something new every weekend. There are minimum standards for this - i.e. going to a restaurant I've never been to in my own neighbourhood doesn't really count, but going to a new restaurant in a neighbourhood I rarely frequent, and it being a bit of a mission to get there, does count. Ditto for bars. However, going to an art exhibition counts regardless of where it is. My friends reckon that making a new friend counts, but pashing a new person doesn't.The point, obviously, is to do something I don't usually do. Err, not that I pash people that often... anyway.

Little excursions will go in this blog, and I'll let you know when this has been updated. Big excursions will get their own page.

Places seen:
- Sathira Dhammasathan, a nunnery far away. It has this big, beautiful, peaceful garden, gorgeous ponds, lots of nooks, pretty traditional Thai houses, the best massage and free meditation classes (my friend did that while I drew). Really recommend it for fellow Bangkokians. (17/03/05).

- Erawan Shrine. Interesting to look at, because there's so many people, so much incense, so many huge candles, and Thai dancers. Plus it's also interesting to see how Buddhist practices are such a part of daily for Thais, so much less ritualised than Western religious practices. You know, a student will make a quick stop at the Shrine to pray for good exam marks, but they only spend 10 or so minutes there, offer incence/flowers/candles, walk around the shrine, stopping to offer prayers about four times, and then they carry on with their day. (27/03/05)

- a library! I have been devouring books of late and a library (plus friends' bookshelves) are much needed by my wallet. Great books I've read recently: Dirt Music by Tim Winton, You Shall Know Our Velocity and A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers, Alias Grace and The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood, A Small Death in Lisbon by Robert Wilson.

- Lettuce Farm Palace/ Wang Suan Pakklad - Visited this really pretty Palace on a rather hot day, unfortunately.

On my list of places to see:


- Various temples, including Wat Benchamabophit

- A canal taxi

- Some completely random suburb far away from where I normally go (and I'll have to take a bus to get there... oooh) - trust me, this is living on the Edge.


Advertisement



19th May 2010
Sathira Dhammasathan

dazzling place...i wanna be dyer sumday..so peacefull

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb