A political situation in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 9th 2013
Published: December 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I awoke to a very politically-charged event in Bangkok. At about 8am the prime minister dissolved parliament, and lots of protestors in Bangkok have gone into the centre to demonstrate against the prime minister and are continuing until she steps down and the regime is brought down. Susan took me on the sky train into Bangkok as we needed to get change some money at the bank. Lots of people aren't going to work as they have been encouraged by their bosses to demonstrate, the bars are empty and lots of streets are blocked off. Susan and I had lunch in a restaurant and watched the hundreds of protestors racing into the city on motorbikes and vans, waving the Thai flag or wearing the colours of the King. I cannot visit the centre of Bangkok at the moment. Susan and I went to the bank, the post office, and compared fruit and veg in the local Tesco supermarket to the English tesco. She taught me how to bargain and has taught me thai numbers up to 5,000 as I need them for the currency. We have been following the news on the TV and Susan has lent me a whole new suitable wardrobe for the next week in Bangkok.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.294s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0925s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb