My Final Day in Bangkok and 12 Things I have learned from Traveling


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 10th 2013
Published: November 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

I apologize now for sending out 2 blogs at once. Seems when I got to looking at it, I wrote one on the 8th, got it all ready and seemed to fail to hit the publish button. So, you are getting one from 2 days ago, so if it does not make sense, now you know.

I took the time to slow down today, found a nice air conditioned little place, ordered some Pad Thai and sat by the window, slowly eating and drinking my soft drink. I love to sit still, and watch life go by. As much as I have found some top notch people watching spots, LAX (Los Angeles Int. Airport), Rome, New York, Bangkok is the king, the greatest spot I have found on earth to people watch. Just give it an hour and you will see just about every nationality, every persuation, every level of human life. It’s the King. I watched people pushing these heavy carts down a busy road without giving thought to all the traffic, all to set up there little stand on their little section of sidewalk, and they do this every day. Its all about taking time to observe life, right before your eyes. It’s the love in the love hate relationship – lol.

I have said it before and I will say it again, I am a travel novice compared to so many people. I don’t claim to be the know all, end all of traveling, but I have learned a few things over the past 6 years. I have gotten my feet wet, and no longer green behind the ears and feel compelled to pass off a few of the things that I have observed. Some are worthy of my soap box which I like to perch on from time to time, and seeing as its my little corner of the web, I can do that. On my flight from Krabi to Bangkok, some things just came to mind and I started jotting them down, knowing I would find a good time to make my case, and today is the day. These are my 12 lessons, experiences, thoughts, and observations after 6 years of traveling.

1) Despite different cultures and languages, we are all basically the same. It all boils down to the basic necessities of life, food and shelter. We work every day to provide a roof over our head and food on the table. With the extra, we lavish ourselves with all the non-essentials. For the vast majority of the world, it’s a daily struggle to just keep up with the food and shelter, if you can. Everyone has the same hopes and dreams, a better life.

2) Food is the universal language, don’t be afraid to go local. Eat what the locals eat, enjoy the flavors and dishes of the area. The worst thing you can do is spend a whole vacation eating the food from back home. No matter where you go, there are restaurants that cater to the western diet, and you could eat your whole trip and not taste the local cuisine. What a shame. Now, I do have a few meals like the Bourbon Street Restaurant I ate at last night, but they are far and few between, and occasionally it is nice to have a little taste of home. Some of the best dishes I have ever had were local cuisine.

3) Embrace the unexpected, sometimes it rains. I like to travel off season most of the time because its cheaper, and less crowded. So this means at times, you can show up in the rainy season, or its cold. I love to read about people complaining that it rained their whole time on a Thailand beach, well, you showed up in monsoon season, get over it. I have had to change plans due to unexpected issues or things out of my control, and it’s a part of travel. When you get lemons, make lemonaide

4) Go with the flow, learn to live on local time. This is one of my favorites. Its like the van that was supposed to pick me up at 11, but showed up at 11:45, things in Thailand run on Thai time, and you cannot let it get under your skin. I have learned to add about 30 minutes to anything I plan, because that’s just the way it goes. I wish I could be this way at home, just ask my brother – lol.

5) Don’t be afraid to wander off the beaten path. I have discovered that some of the hidden gems of this world are down that narrow side street, or that city that the tour buses never go. This is my travel montra, the code that I go by, the one thing that inspires me to go it alone. When you are in an area, a city or a place and there are no other tourist around, its heaven. When I was touring Angkor in Cambodia, the best part was visiting the temples and buildings that no one else was at, had it to myself and what a shame people were not seeing this. When you travel with a group, you go where they take you, in a short time to see as much as possible in that short time and you cannot get out and find the hidden gems. The best part of Cambodia is not Phnom Penh, but Battambang, Kampot and Kep and you will never see a tour bus there. The hidden gem of Peru is the Sacred Valley, but tours will skip that and head straight for Machu Picchu. My discovery in Italy was not Venice, but Verona. I love that place and never even knew there was an old Roman Colliseum there. I know Costa Rica is nice, but how about visiting Panama, Honduras, Guatemala. Thailand is great, but by all means go to Laos and Cambodia, you will be rewarded, I promise.

6) Respect local culture and Religion. Oh my, this is a biggie. The internet is your friend and I always try to learn about do’s and don’ts of places I travel to. For instance, in Thailand its very rude to point to someone. You may think its no big deal, but it’s the little things. And now its time to step on the soapbox, respecting local religion. Nothing and I mean nothing, irritates me more than going to a Temple in Asia and seeing some daisy duke, halter top wearing western idiot parading around with her business hanging out and going inside a temple and making a spectacle of themselves. This is a place of worship, people are praying, give it the respect you would if it were your house of worship. Don’t be running up to someone making alms and praying to the buddah by sticking a camera at them and taking pictures like they are putting on a show for you. Part of the culture of the Asians is they are very non-confrontational people, so when people disrespect their temple, they are just repulsed but will not say anything. I have seen the look on peoples faces when some idiot does something stupid. It all goes back to that sign in Chiang Rai at the White Temple, No Foreigners allowed in the Temple due to past inappropriate behavior. AMEN!!!!

7) Learn to speak a few phrases of the local language. Sometimes it’s the little things that make the difference. I always learn to say hello, thank you at a minimum. When you greet someone in their own language, it does make a difference, I promise. I actually heard an American say to his wife while in Vietnam, “if they want us to visit this country, the least they can do is learn to speak English” Oh please.

8) Traveling does not have to be expensive. I travel on the cheap and not afraid to admit it. I stay at Guest Houses when possible, and travel out of season when possible, and it can save quite a few bucks. I take day trips from time to time, but more often do it myself for much cheaper. If time allows I may bus instead of fly, or take the train, all little things that can save you money. Now, Europe is expensive, but going to Italy in February was a big savings, even though it was cold. Asia in October, early November while they end of the rainy season, is a great time. Do your homework and it will pay off.

9) Traveling does not get “traveling” out of your system. Seems the more I travel, the more places I want to go. Its become my hobby, my passion and my reason or working hard. My dream would be to take a year or 2 off and spend the time traveling about. Young people call it the “gap year”, and I want one of my own.

10) Take your time. Don’t try to do multiple countries on one visit. Take an area, and spend some time there. The worst thing you can do is try to whirlwind 2 weeks into 4 countries and just a few cities. Take it one country at a time, and even then maybe one part of that country and come back another time and see the rest. All of Thailand is not like Bangkok, all of Cambodia is not visiting Angkor, all of Italy is not just seeing Rome, I could go on and on. Slow down, take a few days, enjoy.

11) The rest of the world is not full of germs. I have traveled around, eaten street food in every stop, don’t spend my entire trip sanitizing my hands and not needed a surgical mask to protect myself. In all that time, I had one bout of stomach distress in Peru, but it was minor and did not mess up my trip. If you have been following my trips for any time, you know how I roll and eat, and its all good. I try to be careful and if it looks questionable I avoid it, just be smart. The world is not a cesspool.

12) Don’t wait for someday, there are no guarantees in life. I have never really said this, but traveling has always been something I aspired to do. I have always had that curiosity of what is down this street or what is across that body of water. I guess the inspiration for starting when I did was the death of my dad. My dad always dreamed of getting his motorhome and him and my mom going here and there across the country. He actually bought his motorhome and they made a few trips, but at the age of 69, still full of life, he passed away. A year or so later I was sitting at a restaurant on the beach in San Diego, having dinner, watching the sun set over the Pacific and I started wandering what was across that water. I made my mind up then and there that I would not wait, but travel while I could, simply because we do not know how much time we have, or how our health is going to be, so many things can change our lives. Once I was settled in Tucson, had my life in order, I set in motion my plan, and within a couple of years, I was traveling. I have not looked back nor regretted one moment. Now traveling does not mean you have to go overseas, maybe its that trip to Yellowstone, or Florida, whatever you keep putting off till someday, try to make it happen. The past year or so I have visited Seattle, took a road trip to Texas, have a trip planned in February to San Francisco. I think too many times people say “oh, when I retire I am going to finally take that dream vacation, go see the places I have always wanted”, well there are no guarantees. I know that now is not always possible and we have all burdened ourselves with the things in life that tie us down, but whatever you have that passion for, do your best to make it happen.

Thanks for sticking around.

Happy Travels, Don

Advertisement



10th November 2013

Wow. Very well written, and I agree 100%!
Hi there, I love coming on this blog and reading about people's adventures in Thailand prior to my own coming up this January. I could not agree more on your 12 points. After having toured the world with Cirque du Soleil, and working on the world's largest cruise ship, competing in countries around the globe, I have learned the same things. I think the one I agree with the most is about the language! Learn a little bit, a TINY bit, any willingness to do so shows respect of the culture. And you almost always will learn how to swear first! I can't now say vulgar phrases in about 15 different languages! Anyways, thanks for the good read this morning!
10th November 2013

Thanks Adam, its nice to get comments from other travelers. I too love to read about others adventures, its gives me plenty of ideas
10th November 2013

Thank you so much for taking me along on your travels through the wonderful blogs. It is so exciting to sign in each day to see "what & where". I admire you so much for not only the courage to venture out to worlds unknown but to have the heart of a person that respects and appreciates the people of each culture. You are truly a good example for any who have the desire to explore the world to follow. Now, move over Anthony Bourdain, my Bubba is on the move!! I love you little brother!! PS: after you see the world, don't forget I want you to come grow old with me eating hot water cornbread and chicken & dumplins!!!!

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0622s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb