So 23 hours later ...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 2nd 2008
Published: March 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So what does a 23 hour journey to Bangkok involve? Well let's see ...


• 4 airports
• 3 legs (Toronto - Hong Kong - Bangkok)
• 1 rough start. Let's just say that there were about 75 hockey players all with oversized luggage in line, moving at a snails pace and once I reached the counter to be told that my flight to Toronto "does not exist, ma'am" ... Ma'am???? When he actually found my reservation, the words "Oh My God you are my new best friend came out". Such a Caroline thing to say!
• 1 friendly face going through security courtesy of Madeleine Brillant
• Over 14,000 kms travelled
• Watched 4 movies and countless episodes of Will and Grace, Sex and the City and Friends
• Listened to the best of Genesis, Bee Gees, Aerosmith, Prince ... and had time to build my own playlist
• 3 airplane meals (oooh they had pork!)
• Many many cups of green tea
• a couple of naps here and there
• One awestruck moment when seeing the mountains and gorgeous blueish green water as we landed in Hong Kong
• Finally getting some sleep on the flight to Bangkok (which would have been about 21 hours into the journey). Truth be told, I don't even remember the plane taking off!
• One "Oh my God I'm in Thailand" moment stepping off the plane and seeing a gorgeous sala and guardian demons in the airport
• One harrowing taxi drive to the hotel (well at the least the driver had a seatbelt ... good for him) When I asked him if he had a cold, he proceeded to nod and show me a Ziploc bag full of pills ... good times.
• One freakishly awesome looking hotel room ... and ...
• One travel-weary body!!



Bottom line ... one girl who feels very lucky to be have the opportunity to be here!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.322s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.116s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb