Back in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
September 30th 2012
Published: September 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

I'm back in the city of Bangkok, after an 'interesting' train ride. On the way to Chaing Mai, I was ony this loverly train, with comfy beds, that was really quiet and private. Somehow, when we booked the tickets back to Bangkok, we booked onto the cheaper train, which I like to call the Dinosaur train.

Holy cow, that train was nuts. It was so wild, it was similar to the jolts you get when a plane touches down on the runway. I'm not so sure about travelling by train anymore, to be honest. It was also 3 hours late into the station which didn't help. But honestly, it wasn't that bad. I just chalk it up to part of the experience.

Once we got into Bangkok Dad and I took the subway, which is HUGE, way more modern than the ones in London and New York, to the Chatuchak Sunday Market. It was a complete gongshow. That goodness I had bought a ridiculous huge brimmed floppy hat in Chiang Mai because the sun was roasting. There were so many stalls, it covered a huge area, and all jam packed with people. I had lots of fun looking around and having lunch there. There are people from all over the world around here as tourists. It's pretty amazing. After shopping for a couple hours we had to get onto the skytrain. I couldn't believe my eyes when I looked down the street from the pedestrian walkway. The 4 lane road beside the market was ina complete traffic jam, and the sidewalks were covered with stalls and throngs of people as far as i could see down the street.

Gongshow.

We just got a back a little while ago, and I went for a swim in the pool at the New Siam II. It was AMAZING. Nothing like a swim after a 15 hour train ride and an afternoon in a packed market. It was a bit sticky, so the pool was heaven. I'm starving now so I think I'll go grab something delicious to eat 😊 Tomorrow we're flying to Kuala Lampur in Malaysia, then on to Katmandu.

Good luck to Alex on his driving test!AAAAND Congrats Adri on getting the Lead in Wizard of Oz! Plus O hope your thumb is feeling better Mum.



Love you guys,



Lara

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb