Busy doing nothing


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 21st 2012
Published: June 21st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well its been a while, but I haven't really been doing anything of note to write home about.

I spent a few more nights in Pai, trying some local dishes and back to the Steak house for another large steak (Couldn't resist). Got to listen to a few local acts playing cover songs. They were good, even if the words weren't always quite what you expected. Must be artistic license. I even managed to meet a few hippies there, both western and Thai. Unfortunately I beat them on both the smell and the length of hair!

I got to watch England draw with France, supporting them with a guy from Iran. I think he was more enthusiastic than I was! It was a pleasant evening, and I was happy with the end result. And I can safely say that not all Iranian's are terrorists or hate the English. I did feel sorry for him, as he seems to get a lot of hassle, just for the passport he carries. He even introduced himself as coming from Persia, rather than Iran.

Days are blurring now, and I can't remember if I left the next night or the night after, but it was back to Chiang Mai for a few more days. The bus was full heading back so I had to sit in the front. Not only did I actually get to see just how close we got to some of the other traffic, it carried the extra bonus of not noticing that the child travelling in the back had thrown up... Gotta love A/C.

The girl I met on the way up to Pai, was not so fortunate. A night of drinking games before, and the smell made her need to abandon the van very quickly. Luckily after a few minutes of fresh air and no motion and she was fine. I will always be grateful to her, as she has saved my life and gave me two hairbands. Stupidly I forgot to bring any with me, and the ones I have found here are rubbish.

I went back to the hostel that I had stayed in before in Chiang Mai, and spent the next few days watching movies in my room, and going out for eats and a few beers. I did manage to go to the night market and bought myself a few new t-shirts and a couple of pairs of long baggy trousers, so I could be a bit more mossie resistant when I got to Cambodia.

On the evening of the 16th I got another night bus back to Bangkok. This one was alot better than the last one. The only problem this time was the rattling coming from inside the tv that was just behind me. But even that didn't stop me actually dropping off and dozing for a few hours.

Arriving at five in the morning is always fun in Bangkok. You have the tuk-tuk drivers trying to get you in their vehicle for a trip to the Khao San. Which is about 200 metres from where the bus drops you. You then get to walk through the street where the die-hard drinkers and prostitutes are the only ones up. Apart from the few poor souls that have to stay to serve them.

I was offered a massage, which I declined. The lady shouting out that it was a 'Special"one. To which I replied I should bloody hope so at this time in the morning.

Unfortunately the hotel I normally stay in was booked out, so I continued round the corner and found a cheap hostel with share bathrooms for 300 baht instead of the usual 550 I pay. Alas no swimming pool for me.

Again a few days of sitting around and eating and drinking were in order. One night becoming an impromptu international party. It started with a kiwi and and ozzie. Throughout the night we picked up a welsh girl, a scottish couple and a couple of Japanese on the way. I must thank the ozzie Neil for this, as he just invited everyone that sat near us to come and join the fun. An excellent evening of good company and Chang beer followed. We even managed to adopt a Thai flower seller for the night. She did her job well, and must have got over 600 baht from us for the night. She even managed to plait my hair whilst there.

On the 19th I made my run to the Cambodian border, as it was my last day on my visa. I got up early, had breakfast and then tried to get a taxi that would take me on meter to Moh Chit bus station. After about 30 minutes and as many taxis, I gave up and paid 200 baht for the pleasure. I know it should be cheaper, but I couldn't face another minute of it. He drove through traffic for about forty minutes, so at least it felt worthwhile.

I then got a bus for 223 baht to the border, A/C with free snack and water... whoopee 😉. It was an uneventful journey taking around 4 1/2 to 5 hours. I had obviously read up on all the scams that you get done with, so hoped that it wouldn't be that bad. I took a tuk-tuk for 60 Baht to the border, on reflection I probably could have walked it fine. He tried to stop at one of the fake visa buildings, and I just told him that it wasn't the border. He asked me if I had visa, I said yes (I lied). He drove me the next 300 yards and dropped me off.

I happily avoided all touts and calls for help. Followed the signs which are in English all the way through the Thai border and into the building for the visa on arrival for Cambodia. I paid the extra 100 baht on top of the 20 dollars as it seemed too little to worry about for the possibility of a refused entry stamp. I am here to enjoy myself, not change the system. The way I look at it is that I get screwed everyday of my life in some way, at least they are doing it openly. Five minutes later I had my visa.

The queue for the stamp to get into the country took a while, but I was chatting to a French man that had a six month visa for Cambodia, so the queue disappeared without me really noticing. Not sure I liked giving them my finger prints, but what choice did i have?

After that we were all steered towards the 'Free'shuttle bus. Even the ones that had obviously read up on this and were putting up a fight got on in the end. I think the only way to get round this is to say that you are staying in Poipet. Again I have no idea what price you pay if you do manage to get on a bus in Poipet to Siem Reap. But we were only charged $10 dollars each for the mini-van, which left around twenty minutes after we got to the government bus stop. Maybe it is a huge con, but I was happy enough just to get on it and head to Siem Reap. The stop they make half hour before you get to Siem Reap is a bit annoying. I didn't buy the food, as I had read about this, but by all accounts it is overpriced. Looked nice though.

That is where I am now. I have spent yesterday exploring the town and there is not much too it. Today I have found an internet cafe, and have written mails and blogs. Tomorrow I should probably start the wat experience...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb