Shyte Mate, it's Prickly Heat


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 14th 2004
Published: June 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Okay so I finally found out what I had. Apparently if you are in the woods for too long under heat and mansoon, you get this nasty shit call Prickley heat. I toke some photo's so I can gross some of you out when I come back. Maybe I'll scan one and post it on this blog during one of your lunch times. =)
So what is Prickly heat - pretty much this weird rash that you get because you are sweating too much from the humidity and sun. Your pores gets buggered up and this rash forms that looks like prickely bumps. Much or less like the STD rash Griffo gets from the lady boys =) hehe..i can bust his chops now because I know he won't be able to check his email, as I imagine he's flying to Phuket to meet me now in the next day or so.
So after our trek last night, we got some rest and then we met everyone down at the market after we showered. Man did it feel good to shower, I never felt so nasty having dirt pretty much all places on my body.
It's about a week into my trip, and I feel like I have found my calling. Travelling has been everything and MORE then I hoped to imagine. It has openned my eyes, taught me toleranance, patience and pretty much everything I wouldn't have been able to get back home at such a short time. If it wasn't for my promise to come back to work, I honestly would change my flight to 6 months as originally planned. But hey, it's so damn cheap to fly, I think I'll do another trip in the near future.
Sorry lost track there, got all ZEN on u guys. So Last night I met up with a bunch of ppl from other guesthouses to party. I don't think my body can comprehend what rest is, b/c for the past 6 days I have only slepted hours at most and I feel totally awesome everytime I wake up. So yeah back to the story, sorry I have to stop getting Zen on u guys. So we all went to some burger joint b/c we were all craving some serious Western food. The past 3 days has been rice and dry rations because of our 3 day trek. I never seen my crap so little, it's like shrunk down to rabbit droplets. Maybe it's not like the Canadian diet of super size fries and 2 big macs.
I think I had a bacon cheeseburger but I'm not really sure if it was a burger. The interesting thing I notice over here is everything is of smaller portions. But'in fact it's normal over here, it's just that in the West we have bigger portions. The food was alright but the company was even BETTER. I met this girl Natalie who just blew me away. She was as interesting as interesting can get. She's originally Scottish but lived way down sourth in Alabama or some hick place when she was 5-12, then moved back to Scottland but studied in Edenburg. She's turning 22 and will be in full practice next year. Damn, when I was 22 I was still playing with Tonka trucks. Apparently the English school system, you don't need to take 4 years of science to do your MED. You can go right into medicine, which she did at 17. She pretty much toke me to the next level of what there is out there. We talked about prettymuch everything,and it was pretty much her that convinced me to seriously look into gettign a work visa for Australia. I think I am starting to fancy Scottish girls, they got this pretty cute accent. Taht and it's prettymuch aussies, irish, and scottish ppl you meet over here. I am pretty much the Token asian guy in any group.
Okay going into Zen mode again:  Travelling really is more then just the sites and food.  The best part is meeting the ppl, local and other travellors.  Because everyone you meet for the good and bad adds alittle bit more to your life.  You are getting a first hand lesson in life in the eyes of so many different ppl from all countries.  It's something you can't Google on the NET or read in a book.  The ppl are amazing really.  Another thing is I find myself starting to talk liek them.  I catch myself and try to stop but I think if you hang out with enough scottish ppl, you start to talk like them.  It's weird. Okay Zen out.
So after that we all went to do a bit of shopping. I ran into some problems because my 1000 baut got dirty and none of the wankers would take my money. I had to pretty much jump from one exhange center to another to get it exchanged. So don't get your baut dirty, they don't take it, ít's stupid.
So we ended up bumping into some old friends we meet before and headed to the Chang mai Saloon bar. It's pretty much an English pub with everyone there cheering for their England foot ball team.
I met karen again from our last trek and the Canadian girls joined us. Right about now, I was starting to get annoyed with the Canadian chicks. They are just too cady for me. Everything was nice till they jenny started to bust my chops for drinking too slow and making fun of my Go hard or go home comment. So I put them in their place, and ordered 4 buckets each and got all 4 of them so hammered they had to go home early =) Man these girls dont'know what it means to go hardcore. They think going hardcore is having a few chang mai's. So anyways, I met a bunch of english ppl and got wasted as usual. After England lost, everyone was in a sour mood so Jamie wanted to get some bud which he found, and we headed to Karen's guest house because she had a pool. It was nice to get some bud, reminded me of BC but of course it's nothing like BC bud. =)
I blew my entire 1000 baut that night and was left with 30 baut. Had to haggle with tuk tuk to drive me back on 30 in a super wasted state. I can't imagine what I must of sounded liek to him because it's bad enough with the langauge barrier butnow i'm slurring like Homer Simpson.
He dropped me off and I had no idea where I was. I thought I got ripped off and I'm screwed now b/c i have no money and no bank card. He was nice enough to get out of his tuk tuk and show my sorry ass home to the SP Hotel. I guess I had one too many buckets and chings.
I slepted like a baby needless to say. Next post will be Thai cooking.

Advertisement



16th June 2004

Hey hey Prickly heat, my arse I bet your got pricked by your lady boy friend... ha ha okay not so funny to you... we miss you long time, wish I was there too... hope you're experiencing the true Thai lifestyle, couldn't expect anything less from good ol'Baggins and keep up the messages there awesome. Love WJ

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb