Chef Baggins


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 14th 2004
Published: June 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Slepted through my wake up call and had to skipped my free breakfast because I was suppose to be meeting in the main lobby in 25 minutes. Today is Thai cooking which will take the entire day.
The Thai cookingcourse is wicked. We started off at the market and was shown how to pick and prepare fresh veggies and fruits.
We toke a 20 minute bus ride to the outskirts at this cooking school ran by two brothers.  They are apparently really good in Chang Mai. 
I learnt how to cook all flavour of curry ( the best is Ping Ann curry which is different from all the curry, I was fortunate they showed us this style as it's not a common thing amongst westerners to order in thai resturants, this stuff kicks ass, Í'll be sharing this recipe with you all when I come back) , a pattay dish, and soup and pretty much everything from scratch.  I video recorded a part where I cooked with fire coming out of my wok like those cookign shows.  It's pretty cool, I'll show you guys when I come back.  learnt to make sticky rice with mango. 
The cookign class toke all day but it was well worth it.  I never knew how easy it is once you learnt the theory, technics and see a professional do it.  Not to brag but damn the stuff I made was pretty good. =)  Okay I am bragging, too bad it's my blog =) So now I have Thai cooking under my belt, I think the next stop I will take a course in Thai Massaging.  Apparently it's 2 days long and it's super tough. They teach you accupunture points and chattign up with this girl from the states, it toke her like 3 hours to learn one massage move.  I may do this towards the end of my trip.
Tommorrow I will be in Chang Rai to see the long neck village ppl and take a long ass slow boat ride there.  I signed up for river rafting on the 16th and I'll be meeting Griff and James on the 17th in Phuket.
I"m hoping to fit a meditation course in here somewhere, but it may have to wait. 
I'm glad I got a week ahead of griff and james, b/c I know once they get over here it's trouble.  There is something magical that happens when all 3 of us are int he same area.  We feed off each other and the partying is taken to another level.  I must say the English and aussies know how to party.  Especially the aussies,they just dont'care, they just get wasted anytime of the day. 
I haven't partied really...well at least my own definition of partying.  Don't worry I have represented Canada well.  All the ppl I partied with now thinks Canadians are pretty damn hardcore partiers.  Canada 1 - World 0  =)
peace out, Next stop will Chang Rai. 
 
 

Advertisement



16th June 2004

Way to go Dan! Keep the points for Canada going! Miss you Long Time! NikkiB

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb