Killing time in Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 28th 2012
Published: February 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Amazing Wat Near BanglumphuAmazing Wat Near BanglumphuAmazing Wat Near Banglumphu

Buddhist Temple That had five levels each representing a step in the buddhist path towards nirvana.
I have been back in Bangkok since Saturday night, waiting to pick up my visa for India. Picked it up today and got exactly what I asked for, six months with double entry so I can go to Nepal. I have enjoyed my time in Bangkok and have been mostly hanging around the Khao san road area where I am staying. I have been trying to explore areas of Bangkok that I overlooked before. Just down the road from where I stay I visited a temple that I have driven past countless times but had never visited before. It turned out to be one of my favorite thai temples with 5 different levels through a spiral staircase that represented the different stages of understanding in Buddhism, with the highest level representing nirvana. Walked around Sukhumvit road again today before I picked up my visa and was surprised at how things have either changed or how I have. When I first visited the area back in 2010 it was much different, the red shirt protests were going on and the area was heavily militarized. It felt like a real adventure and not that many tourist were around so things were cheap. Today
Khao San Rd. in ther AfternoonKhao San Rd. in ther AfternoonKhao San Rd. in ther Afternoon

This is what it's like a 3 in the afternoon... come 9-10 at night it is madness.
was kind of depressing looking at what things have become. The touts badgering me to buy rip me off some how bother me less that the kind of foreigners that are around these days. It seems like the majority are either tattooed drunks or over weight pale old men, both classifications are a waste of life and that Thailand with its liberal visa policies has become overrun with rejects from other countries. These people are boring me and as a traveler I don't want to be compared to them. Thailand is no longer challenging me in the way that I think I need to be after college, I love Thailand but it has changed. Today was a great chance to practice my ignoring touts technique before India, I think I will do just fine.

I am extremely excited and nervous for India and have spent hours in my room studying my new Lonely planet. I bought it counterfit on Khaosan road and spent at least 20 mins. bargaining with the guy, i am alot better at bargaining than I was two years ago. In asia every thing is negotiable and the first offer you recieve should be laughed at. Bargaining is part of asian culture so westerners are at a disadvantage because the people trying to rip us off have been doing it there entire lives. The touts and sellers are used to tourists with more money than time and a reverse of the equation can be tough for them. In the end I was able to talk him down about $5, which is the cost of my room and a small meal. Tomorrow I plan to go to Kanchanaburi and relax there. I have been there twice before But I love the river (Bridge over river Kwai ) and it will make a great place to get ready for India. I will post some pictures of bangkok soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0345s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb