Thailand - Bangkok - Christmas, New Year and a warm welcome to Bangkok for Gav!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 30th 2012
Published: January 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok - Gav's first night, Soi Cowboy!Bangkok - Gav's first night, Soi Cowboy!Bangkok - Gav's first night, Soi Cowboy!

As you can see he was like a kid in a sweet shop
Thailand - Bangkok - Christmas, New Year and a warm welcome to Bangkok for Gav!

Where do I begin, this blog may run on a little bit and be slightly disjointed because the next ten days involved Bangkok twice so I’ve combined them into one blog, so my apologies in advance if you’re confused, but don’t worry so am I as you will read in a while.

Maam and I returned to Bangkok from Kanchanaburi to celebrate Christmas, I think we were both more than happy with a relaxed quiet night with a couple of drinks, although having said that we did end up having these drinks in the notorious Soi Cowboy area, but there was good reason for this. I wanted to get a couple of photos to send to Gav to show him what to expect when he arrives, just to clarify these photos were taken outside the clubs so are not explicit. Unfortunately the photos were really bad quality but I have to share with you the content on one of the signs that a bar girl was holding up, I simply started laughing out loud when I saw it. It read "Come in to our bar, we have over 20 hot girls who want you, plus some ugly ones!" This is the first time for a long while in Asia I actually believed what was written on a sign! With the photos taken and a few text messages later from Gav I think he is pretty much ready to head over and start his holiday. Christmas is not really celebrated in Thailand apart from around the expat areas so it was very low key compared to back home but enjoyable all the same, or as they say here "same same but different."

I was left to my own devices for a couple of days so I went to the ancient city of Ayutthaya which used to be the Capitol of Thailand during the 1300’s and beyond. This area was badly affected by the recent floods and you might be able to notice the discolouration in the brick work, because of this it has made many of the structures very unstable. It was a beautiful city, steeped in history with so much to see and do. I hired a bike for the day and cruised round many of the tourist hotspot, it was a brilliant day away from noise and chaos of the current capitol, the contrast is vast.

After hanging out in Bangkok for another couple of days it was time to pick up Gav from the airport! I had even made him a welcome sign, I'm all heart, actually I just have too much time on my hands and needless to say it was a piss take sign that read "Bum-der!" I guess this set the tone for the next 11 days, you would not think we are both in our 30’s. To give an example of the level of immaturity we are dealing with here I will use this as an example, as we are heading to the hotel on the sky train and the auto announcement on the train comes on for the next station which is called Asok. Well this alone is not funny but the pronunciation of Asok in Thai sounds very much like Arse-hole. As I turn my head and see Gav giggling like I child I couldn’t help but burst out laughing. From this point forward this particular stop became a point of much amusement along with Thong-lo and Chit-lom or shit long as it was
Bangkok - A nice mexican on New Years EveBangkok - A nice mexican on New Years EveBangkok - A nice mexican on New Years Eve

I think Gav liked all the Lady boy waiters!
pronounced. One day we will grow up, but not just yet.

After showing Gav round on the quickest tourist loop of Bangkok that’s probably ever been completed we were ready to see in the New Year. But this was not before we had had the scare of our life’s and also met up with one of Gav’s mates from back home called Rick for a couple of beers. Following this we went to watch the infamous Ping Pong show at Pat Pong, Gav was in his element playing a little bit of Table tennis with a female automated Ping Pong ball shooter (I’m not going to get to graphic here just use your imagination) and I was just laughing away at him when from out of nowhere I had a “girl” sat on my lap asking me if I wanted boom boom. I was clearly not interested but she was persistent and refused to get off my lap. Most of the girls in the bar were very unattractive however this “girl” was by far the prettiest, Gav turned to me and said “at least you ended up with the fittest one sat on your lap” so he was fooled as much as me!” After a couple more minutes “she” left me alone and walked off to hassle other punters. This is when it all became clear, the next punters paid “her” to reveal all and it turned out this attractive girl was not a girl at all, it was a bloody guy, WTF!!!! Gav and I were in total shock, well actually Gav was wetting himself laughing that she/he had been sat on my lap for the past five minutes trying to get me to go boom boom with her. After a few comedy moments discussing what we had just seen we decided to leave and as a word of warning this is where the common bar scam came into play, the bill should have been 200bhat and they tried to charge us 3500bhat for the show that was meant to be free. I have seen this happen so much in Asia so I just headed to the door and walked out, Gav was up for discussing it (or arguing it) but after a couple of minutes he soon realised he was best off getting out of there. A very strange night and one that put Gav off any Thia girls for a long while unless he could carry out a pre-match inspection! Sorry this is very crude but it was so funny I just wanted to share it with you all and there is no polite way of telling such a story. Following this we were then playing the “Bird or Bloke” game with pretty much any girl in a bar we set eyes on and it’s fair to say Maam’s eye is a lot more trained than ours and we just couldn’t ever tell.

Well that was the pre-new year’s eve warm up done, the night itself was a little less eventful thankfully, we settled for a Mexican dinner before heading to Centre World where hundreds of thousands of people were gathered to see in the New year. It was a great night but again very different from back home. About ten minutes after midnight everyone was gone and it was like it never happened, back home the party would have gone on for hours with drunk people everywhere. We all headed back to the hotel for another drink before calling it a night and getting ready for a brilliant start to 2012. Maam went to work the following morning and Gav and I went to explore more of Bangkok before we would leave to head to an Island called Koh Samui for the alternative side to Thailand that I will talk about in another blog.

After returning from Koh Samui we headed back to Bangkok for our final day before Gav would head home and I would be moving on to Cambodia. It was an amazing eleven days seeing a great friend at a special time of year. I’m pretty sure Gav had a great time and I know I did. A big thank you to Maam for putting up with two children for several days and being such a good laugh and joining in with most things (not the Ping Pong show which I totally understand!)

Actually that has just reminded me, one night we all decided to play cards, it got competitive and we decided to raise the stakes on the last game. These were the odds, if either Gav or I lost we had to kiss a lady-boy, if Maam lost she had to eat something strange from the street food of our choosing. I know I really wanted Gav
Bangkok - Maam eating a strange creature after losing the final game of cardsBangkok - Maam eating a strange creature after losing the final game of cardsBangkok - Maam eating a strange creature after losing the final game of cards

Thank god she did lose because if Gav or I lost we had to kiss a lady boy :(
to lose and vice versa I’m sure but sadly for Maam she lost. I don’t even know what creature it was that she devoured but it was like a huge beetle, it took a little persuading to get Maam to carry out her forfeit but she did it, silly girl, like I was ever going to kiss a lady boy! I’m still so relieved I didn’t lose. As you will see from the photo I think Maam secretly enjoyed her little meal of random insects……

All in all a great finish to 2011 and an amazing start to 2012, bring on the year ahead!!!

Belated HAPPY NEW YEAR to you all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

Bangkok - This was the choice presented to MaamBangkok - This was the choice presented to Maam
Bangkok - This was the choice presented to Maam

When you lose a bet you have to take the punishment!!!
Bangkok - Gav's first meal.Bangkok - Gav's first meal.
Bangkok - Gav's first meal.

He decided to treat us all as it was £5 for 3 meals and drinks, cheers Gavlar
Bangkok - Gav on New Years eveBangkok - Gav on New Years eve
Bangkok - Gav on New Years eve

Settle down ladies - form a queue!


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0203s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb