New Year Shenanigans


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
January 7th 2012
Published: January 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Me and ElaineMe and ElaineMe and Elaine

Before we went for dinner, all dressed up ready to party!
Well, happy 2012!! I can't really believe where the last year has gone, but it's safe to say I've had a pretty amazing one! I think, by the end of reading this blog entry, you'll agree I rounded the year off with a party to rival all parties...



The week at work flew by, as they seem to do out here, and, no sooner than we had said goodbye to everyone on Ko Sichang, they were back in Bangkok for the weekend. Thanks to the super organisational skills of one of our group, we had managed to secure a pretty decent discount on a fancy meal and rooftop party in a local hotel - The Queen's Park Imperial. The meal was a buffet and the party had several floors of music to keep us dancing until way after the countdown.



I got ready in my apartment and went to meet everyone else at the hostel they stay in not far from me. People were at various stages of getting ready when I arrived, but most were nearly done and it didn't take long until we were on the balcony having a drink and looking forward
DessertDessertDessert

One of the many displays of food that never seemed to disappear.
to the night ahead. I even managed to Skype Will while I was waiting! As much as we were looking forward to the buffet, I don't think anybody was quite prepared for the feast that awaited us. We got shown to our table, where there were party hats and things waiting for us, then had a plate of lobster put in front of us, as recommended by the waiter. As much wine as we could drink was included in the price so we took full advantage and I felt more sophisticated than I have done in a while by drinking sparkling wine and eating lobster for most of the night! Almost every food that you can imagine was at this buffet - seafood, meat, typical party food, salad, lots and lots of desserts. Although I think it's fair to say we were too busy drinking to really make the most of the meal, we certainly managed to try everything between us.



After a few hours of being really impressed with our level of class, we decided it was time to lower the tone and head upstairs to the party. This was more the kind of thing we're
Midnight!Midnight!Midnight!

I'm really quite proud of this shot!
used to out here - a nightclub on the roof! We danced the night away and, before long, the countdown to midnight had begun. Well, the fireworks were spectacular! Soon after, we had had enough and I left everyone to go back to my apartment. I spent a while wishing various people Happy New Year and then fell into a deep (for me) slumber.



Not having to go back to work until Wednesday meant we could do it all again on Sunday night! I'm not sure I was really planning on going out until I met up with everyone, so I definitely wasn't dressed to party, but it didn't seem to matter too much. We spent the afternoon drinking outside a tattoo parlour, where one of the boys was getting a tattoo (don't worry, I have no plans on coming home with one!) and then decided to carry on drinking for the rest of the night. It was a fun night, but I certainly don't have the same stamina as some of the others. I think I was asleep by four whereas some of them didn't go to bed until 8! It meant that Monday was a very quiet day, just watching films and feeling sorry for ourselves. Tuesday was a bit more active, a few hours in one of the many shopping centres in Bangkok and then a few more hours at the Hard Rock Cafe. We said our goodbyes with not much sadness, knowing we would be seeing each other again in just three days!



I have to admit that, despite it being a very short working week, I have been exhausted and it's been the hardest week here yet! Mainly due to the busy weekend I suppose but students have been in high spirits and not wanting to settle down, which hasn't helped my tiredness. This weekend is going to be much quieter than last, although I'm sure I'll manage a drink or two this evening!



xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb