Tuktuks, Elephants and Everything Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 19th 2011
Published: October 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello Bangkok



Friday morning we woke, had a final brekkie (with Ben still steering clear of anything cooked on the buffet) and off to the airport we set.. Once checked in, we went to the departure lounge. Upon boarding our Nok flight, Ben saw the front of the plane from the airport window... He was bemused to see the nose of the plane had a cartoon face drawn on it... and I think he doubted the validity of the airline at this point... I think he called it a Cartoon Airline! I assured him Nok is a subsidiary of Thai and perfectly safe (would I fly an unsafe airline seriously!?). Once in the air we were served a little snack which consisted of water and a 'pretzel'. I use the term pretzel very lightly based on the fact it was a bread-roll in the shape of the pretzel with pieces of sausage in it... I ate it but wasn't sure if it would be the death of me later...

Once landed at Don Meung Airport, we caught a taxi to our hotel. Upon getting to the hotel, we were both pretty impressed by the room. We had the Arun Suite, which was on the top floor overlooking the river and Wat Arun. It was absolutely GORGEOUS. The river was looking high and running pretty fast but no flooding just yet. The hotel seemed to think they would be okay. We chilled out on our balcony for awhile before deciding to head off in search of some food. We walked up to the Ferry stop about 5 minutes from the hotel.

Once on the ferry, two Monks got on at the next stop and stood next to Ben. Ben turned to me and said "Can I talk to them?" and I was like "Um yep just dont touch them" and he was like "What? No high fives?" ... "Ummm no" .... It was funny watching Ben work up the courage to initiate a conversation with the Monks but eventually he did the "G'day, how ya goin?" in his best Aussie slang and off they went in a little conversation.

Our ferry arrived at Phra Athit not long after and off we went. We stopped at Apple (where I have eaten before) for lunch and ordered a bottle of Samsong (Ben still amused at the Thai way of ordering a bottle instead of individual drinks).

Not long after we sat down, some Colombians turned up... they were so rude to the waitress and I looked at Benny.. but before I could say anything he said "Don't even say it... I know" .. knowing my stance of rude travellers! Towards the end of our meal the Colombians started talking to us... I mentioned right before they left that Benny and I were going to head to South America at some point and the 'drug lord' of the group.. a big portly gentlemen wearing a white Fedora hat says "oh you come, you HAVE to stay with me. I look after you.. everything free, accommodation, food drink all free" and with that he gave us his email address.... We can just see it now... Some cocaine lord of South America... all expenses paid until the end when he says "ok you pay me $10,000 NOW or you smuggle this cocaine" ... Benny and Reet coming to a "Banged up Abroad" episode near you soon! LOL

Finished with our Samsong and meal, we walked through Soi Rambuttri with Khao San Rd in mind. Halfway we decided to stop for a drink and ordered a bucket... I figured while in Thailand Benny had to have at least one bucket.. When it came out it was in a tall elegant glass jar.. Are they kidding?! Thats not the quintessential "Bucket". Tasted the same but the experience is NOT the same.. so it doesn't count and Benny went home a 'bucket virgin'. While having our drink the clouds opened up and it pelted with rain. After finishing our drinks we decided to pop next door to the 7/11 and raincoat it up. Walking down Soi Rambuttri in our matching raincoats, I felt very much the tourist!

We decided to stop in at Gullivers so I could have my 'Mai Tai' I always have at Gullivers every trip. Ben got talking to some English lads in the toilet (yeah usually a girl thing) and so we had a drink with them before heading off. We didnt want to stay out too late as we had a big tour planned the next day. I grabbed us a cup of corn from a street vendor and we flagged a tuktuk down (or did he flag us?!) before a hairy ride back to the hotel!

When we got back to the hotel, I asked reception if they could make us up breakfast packs for the next day as we were leaving early. About 15 min later, a knock on the door and we had 2 orange juices, 2 bananas (not in the best state) and 2 little packs containing club sandwiches and hot chips... Hehehehe interesting breakfast choice!

Trains, Boats and Elephants



The following morning we were picked up by Kung, one of Tong's tour guides. Tong was meant to do the tour with us but had a trip to Korea she couldn't get out of. On the way out to the train market, I started to feel REALLY ill. Stomach cramps, nausea... uh-oh.. the only thing I ate that Benny didn't was that damn corn from Khao San Rd!

We stopped at a servo and I ran to the toilet.... let me just say this... squat toilets and diarrhea are not designed for each other... especially when you are feeling sick and miserable.. squatting in that toilet I wanted to cry! At least Benny had the 'comfort' of our hotel room!

When we arrived at the train markets, I stayed in the car and slept while Benny went with Kung to the market. By the time we arrived at the Floating Markets I was feeling considerably better and started my food trail around the markets... Marinated chicken wings, those little thai crepes with meringue in the middle, Iced coffee in a bag, Pork Noodle soup... Mmmmm so good... I decided to skip the Som Tam today due to my stomach. Back at the dock, we purchased the daggy yet essential 'plate' with our photos on it (got two copies.. one each hehe), bought a couple of lovely scarves I couldnt go past for presents and headed to Kanchanaburi.

When we got to Kanchanaburi, we did a quick stop at the 'Bridge over the River Kwai' for a photo opportunity then headed to swim with the Elephants. We got an elephant called 'Full Moon' who is a cheeky git that loves to play! We rode her bareback down to the river, where we got to play in the water with her for about half an hour... It is such a great experience and highly worth the two hour drive back to Bangkok!

A quick lunch after the elephants, and we drove back to Bangkok exhausted! While getting ready to head out for dinner and some shopping, Mother Nature had other plans in store for us producing the biggest storm I think I've ever seen! The rain was so heavy and the thunder/lightening right over the top of us... We were not going anywhere... so we sat on our balcony and amused ourselves for an hour taking photos of the lightening. Wat Arun even got hit and all the lights on it went out at one stage! That's how close it was!

Benny's Last Day :-(



Waking up Sunday morning, the feeling of dread came over me... it was Benny's last day. Although I have an amazing month adventure coming up, it also means a month away from Benny... the longest we have been apart since meeting is 7 days so its going to be a true test!

We went downstairs for breakfast and discovered it was a help yourself continental style buffet with Champagne!! Yes! There was also a small list of hot stuff you could order. The staff didn't speak alot of English and Ben asked for 'one bacon and eggs' and one 'bacon egg and sausage'.... When it turned up I had bacon and 2 eggs and Benny got 3 sausages and a strip of bacon! LOL

After breakfast we caught a taxi to Soi Rambuttri and dropped our bags at Lamphu House before heading to Chatuchuk Markets for last minute shopping. When we finished shopping, I decided I want to find Soi Polo Fried Chicken which I had read a lot of reviews about. I asked a few tuktuk's and taxi's but noone knew where it was.. so we decided to start walking while we thought about it...

About 50 metres up the road was a stall selling books.. and an idea formed... I grabbed the Thailand Lonely Planet knowing it was in the last edition. The last edition however was wrapped in plastic. I asked the stall man if I could take the plastic off.. He took it off for me and then just stood there.. I wanted him to walk away so I could take a photo of the address and map.. but he continued to stand there.. I whispered to Ben to get his phone out and stealth mode a photo for me... It was very funny us pretending to look through the books while trying to take a photo of the open page in my hand!

Once the photos were taken, we didn't know how to 'end' so we asked him if he had the latest edition as this was the 2007 edition... He asked another guy and they both said no... so we said "oh ok we need the latest edition, thankyou" and walked off back to the taxis... giggling the whole way! LOL

We got to Soi Polo Fried Chicken and had a feast (such a theme with me isn't it!) then headed back to the hotel. On the way we stopped in Khao San Rd so that Benny could get a henna tattoo... Surprisingly, he doesn't have ANY tattoo's and there is a bit of a 'no tattoo' rule in his family.. so he thought it would be amusing to get a henna tattoo to fool his Mum when he got home.. from what I have heard it went down like a lead bullet... Can't wait to reveal mine one day! LOL

When we got back to Lamphu House I was feeling really sad that he was about to leave, and walking into the small stuffy room depressed me even more.. I decided there and then to blow some extra money and move back to New Siam II where I have stayed many times before. We moved my luggage up there, Benny had a quick shower and we headed to the airport.

After saying a sad goodbye to him, I jumped in a taxi to head back to the hotel. Once there I was feeling shite so I went down the road and had a two hour massage which made me feel much better.... Back to the hotel for bed and to prepare for my trip the following morning to Cambodia..

See you in Cambodia
Reety xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



20th October 2011

hey reet, enjoyed reading the last two blogs you wrote. nicely done! i am still in mexico enjoying the turtles, beer, fruit, soft sand, warm water, and meeting nice travelers. ciao, kristina

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb