Khao San


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 6th 2005
Published: April 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

pud thaipud thaipud thai

dinner from a street cart on soi rambuttri
Spent most of yesterday wandering around Thanon Khao San and Soi Rambutri. Didn't find anywhere to stay that took reservations, so I'd have too spend the morning looking. Had dinner on the street, bought 3 chicken 'steaks' - ie sticks/kebabs for 15B off a street cart that were great. Ended up having dinner at a street stall called Pan Thai, green chicken curry and a Singah beer for 55B. Was so tired by 7.30 that I went to bed (think I'm still adjusting to the time difference), but was woken up by some music playing downstairs at 9.30. Ended up sleeping in till 8, then had eggs, bacon, toast and tea for breakfast at the hotel.

Wandered away from Khao San into West Banglamphu to find somewhere quiet to stay. The range of accomodation is very interesting. There was one gusthouse where the room didn't even have a window, and was basically a bed in a room. Another had a TV, but the double bed went from wall to wall it was so small, and the windows didn't close. The funniest one was a bed with a single mattress on the floor that was so small that the door didn't
tuk-tuktuk-tuktuk-tuk

ride from siam square to banglamphu
open more than half way because it hit the end of the mattress, and there was a fan on the ceiling and that was it. I don't think I'd have even been able to fit my pack in there. I've ended up at Four Sons Village, in a double room with my own bathroom, air con and fan, and a TV that apparently has cable, but all I can find is a Thai version of Channel V and the news. It's 400B a night, and I'm staying here for the next 4 nights until I leave on Saturday night.

Walked to The Grand Palace today to have a look around, but couldn't go in for the dress regulations. I'll go back tomorrow after I've bought some sandals tonight. Caught a taxi to the department store area of Bangkok. Went into the Discovey Centre and MBK, which are huge shopping malls with tonnes of security guards, and the to Siam Centre, Bangkok's first shopping mall. It isn't really a shopping centre, more like market stalls in a mall with each one only about 2m by 2m. Caught a tuk-tuk which was an interesting experience. I tool some photos and video footage on it so hopefully I'll be able to upload those here soon.





Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb