The Tent


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 11th 2011
Published: August 11th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I wasn't going to publish another entry until tomorrow but this lunch experience was kind of interesting. A co-worker took us to a place he just called "The Tent" and it was pretty cool. It's located down the alley behind our office, and in the morning it's kind of a mini flea market where you can buy everything from batteries to clothes, but during lunch time it turns into a massive Thai cookout. It didn't look that big at first but as we walked in further we entered a covered area that had hundreds of locals eating lunch at a bunch of picnic type tables.

The first thing you had to do was prepare your utensils. In the middle of this feeding frenzy was a big bin that had forks, knives and spoons and beside this was a pot of boiling water. You pick your utensils, insert them into the water to sterilize them, and away you go. This was definitely a first for me but hey - when in Rome. Then we bought a bottle of water - 25 cents - and started looking for a table.

Good luck with that. This place was jam packed with people and what you normally did to hold a spot was place your bottle water there and then purchase your food. We managed to find some spare seats and convinced a couple to shove over, and two of us stayed while the other guys went to buy food. They came back about 5 minutes later with a plate of food that had some rice, vegetables and chicken cooked up Thai style with spices, fish sauce and lime juice. It was extremely tasty and when I asked him how much I owed he said, "Keep your money - it only cost a buck." A dollar? For a plate of food? Back home you couldn't even buy the paper plate it was on for a dollar!

On the way out he showed us his favorite stalls that served everything from pad thai to fried fish and spring rolls. At the exit he asked me if I wanted to try one of the more popular desserts - mango on rice with coconut milk. Cost for two of them - 2 bucks. The mango was very tasty and the combination of rice and coconut milk finished it off nicely. After all of that, and working on 4 hours sleep, I almost nodded off a few times at my desk but I managed to pull through until the end of the day.

Interesting dining experience and so far my stomach's holding up, I'll see how I feel in a few hours. 😊

Look for my next entry tomorrow which will be after my first red light district encounter at soi cowboy. A bunch of co-workers and their spouses are going out for drinks - feel free to google soi cowboy if you want a preview...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



11th August 2011

Fascinating!
Hey Cuz, Soooo glad you decided to blog. It's absolutely fascinating! Horrible to hear about the child sex industry, but that's no secret. Can't wait for tomorrow's post re: SOI COWBOY!! Behave yourself, young man! Meanwhile, I'm gonna go look for a little 'Mango Delight' of my own! ;-)
11th August 2011

Great lunch!
Hey D, Lovin' the entries from the other side of the planet. I know you are having a blast. Keep up the great work - but not too much work.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb