Thailand here I come


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
August 8th 2011
Published: August 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Greetings and welcome to the first installment of my travel blog detailing my trip to Thailand. Before I left there were quite a few people who kept asking for pictures and details about my trip, and I had no idea how I would keep all these different sets of friends and family updated. Initially I was just going to come here, do my job, take a few pictures and send the odd e-mail to people back home. As I got closer to my departure date it suddenly dawned on me that this is a once in a lifetime experience and to really do it justice I should come up with something a little more organized and, hopefully, a little more entertaining. Then I remembered a travel blog that a friend of mine put together about her trip to Pakistan and I decided to do something similar.

I was never a big fan of blogs and never read them much myself, but as I started reading through some online I found that it's quite an effective way to document a trip, especially lengthy ones. When researching other trips I've made in the past I've also relied heavily on other people's posts in various forums like tripadvisor, so if my blog helps even one other person to plan a trip to Asia then I feel as if it was worth the effort.

I arrived in Bangkok on Monday August 8th, 2011 and I'll be here until early February 2012 and I plan to experience as much as I can while I'm here. I'm based in Bangkok but I plan to see as much of southeast Asia that I can but if anyone who's reading this has been here before and has any travel tips please pass them on. Also if you have any suggestions on how I can improve my entries I'd love to hear those as well.

So - welcome, thank you for reading, and I hope you enjoy what I put together.

Derek

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb