Dear Jeremy,


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 30th 2011
Published: June 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

DSCN1674DSCN1674DSCN1674

On the boat to floating market #1: the scam
I've come to realize that I'm experiencing Thailand in a different way than the rest of these kids. Thinking back, it’s a similar situation to the BFFI controversy. The four of us clung to each other because we "just needed something to hold on to" in India, but you weren't in that place with us. You had seen parts of the world that made you slightly more prepared for India than the rest of us. Everyone wanted to be your friend; you were the go-to guy, our group leader. Could I be any vainer in saying that everyone is looking to me, that everyone wants me to be chummy here in Thailand? I feel like a chump saying it, but I think it's true. India prepared me for Thailand, but I can see the others are a little lost. Lonesome for friends and family, looking for bread and steak, wanting to lay on a couch and watch American TV. They want to adhere to parts of America that they find in Thailand: I find it exhausting that part of America is me. My lack of blogging for the past couple of weeks correlates with my duties of shuttling people here and there, and making decisions when the only answers agreed upon are "I don't know" and "I don't care." Sorry for the wait.
I wrote the last letter as I was at the summit of my mountain of lost hours of sleep. I laid down for a nap that Friday, 17-June, around 3:30 and left a note on my door saying I would meet the others sometime when I woke up. Instead of waiting for me to wake up, I woke to constant knocking, even an "Amy!" through the door. They wanted to go to Kao San Road, so I begrudgingly threw on some clothes. I had walked out the door deciding to take a back seat in decision-making, but after observing the incapability (as well as looks of worry and fear) of others just to get the taxi driver to start the meter...well, I knew it was going to be a long night.
I have found that Thais are like most other nationalities besides Americans in that they will drink socially but not to get drunk. Therefore, Kao San has become the place for tourists to party hard, the Mifflin Street of Central Bangkok. It was interesting to see all
DSCN1678DSCN1678DSCN1678

Birds of Paradise
of the people there and listen to them talk with accented English and in German and French. There were plastic tables on the side walk with bar maids serving buckets of beer, bikini vendors, and pad thai baskets everywhere you looked. I was busy observing, but the others were looking for a place to escape. We were too early for nightlife but had a beer in an empty bar. We all stuck to one drink because of our Saturday plans so we stood around awkwardly until the music started picking up around 10. It was fun to dance for a while, and then it got disgusting as the tourists were getting sloppy. I got us out of there around midnight.
The next morning we took a shuttle van from Century to the floating market in Damnoen Saduak about 100 km from Bangkok. We got off the van and were accosted by a woman selling us a trip through the market. A lack of preparation and research led us to this sole option so we got on her 500 baat/person boat and saw the floating market like an American would. We stopped at the souvenier shop/coconut farm and got pulled towards
DSCN1680DSCN1680DSCN1680

Coconut sugar.
shops of the tour's colleagues. It was quite like Rocky's tour in Agra that ended at the jewelry store. I don't regret spending the money though. It was something I wanted to see and I saw it. I do wonder why I wanted to see the floating market in the first place, but thats besides the point. I didn't buy anything but papaya salad and mango sticky rice, but Sarah bought a very pretty dress for $20 that the strap broke off the first time she tried it on. Oh the scams of the tourism industry.
When I got home that afternoon, I went to bed around 4:00. I slept for 17 hours, a job well done.
On Sunday of that weekend, I went out walking by myself and followed the BTS all the way to Siam Paragon the huge Lamborghini/ Jimmy Choo/ Prada mall. I didn't go in (I've been there before) but turned to find Lumphini Park. It was nice to be in open space. There are three small lakes in the park and a bike/running path. There are jungle gyms and a lady reading stories to the children. There are badminton courts and places where people play
DSCN1681DSCN1681DSCN1681

Coconut syrup.
games I've never seen before. Pavilions and paddleboats; reptiles and roses. I was content to take it in by myself too. I think that I preferred it that way. I was able to have clear thoughts for myself and not be filled with the thoughts of everyone else.
It was a brief reprieve. Last Monday night, everyone came to my room to plan our next trip. I decided against going to Pattaya, and Kyle and Sarah wanted to hang back in Bangkok too. We planned a tour of the city instead, each of us with destinations we wanted to see and become familiar with. My only requirement for the trip was to spend some time wandering Chinatown. Kahoua decided last minute that she wanted to join our walking tour, but wanted to use part of the day to see a floating market too. We scheduled her in and went out of the way to catch a bus Saturday morning to Taling Chan around 9:30. I was pretty chipper that day; I had talked to Nick before I left, the sun was shining, and we were exploring! I love to explore.
We didn't know where to get off the bus, so this was the start of a big day of asking for help from the very generous Thais. A nice man pointed us in the right direction and another girl got us on a truck to take us to the market. It was not touristy at all so it was right up my alley. I love seeing what the Thai citizens are buying and eating, what they like to do. We saw some interesting produce, snacks, and live seafood. I spent like $10 on breakfast because everything looked so good! I tried a taro pudding and some peanut noodles. No cilantro! Sarah didn't eat at the market because she had a pb and nutella sandwich before we came, but as we were walking back to catch the bus to Democracy Monument, I could tell she was already hungry again. I didn't say anything...just kept eating my jackfruit.
We took pictures at Democracy Monument, City Hall, and the Giant Swing. There isn't a swing on the Giant Swing anymore. During swing ceremonies, men would jump off the swing to grab bags of coins with their teeth. Since I always think I'm going to break my leg when I jump off a swing, I can see why the competitions would be discontinued because of fatalities.
From there, we walked...
Amy: chipper, wandering Bangkok.
Kyle: agitated, staring at the map.
Kahoua: agitated, staring at the map.
Sarah: over-hungry and over-tired.
I asked for directions and we found our way to a couple of Wats (temples) and then to Chinatown. (I had made Sarah eat in between somewhere). I started getting irritated with the puppy-dog whining and following on my heels, but I brushed it off for the most part. I was happy to be out with the Thais and doing as they do: shopping for custard apples and eating seafood pad thai. We got lost on our way to the flower market and as the others studied the map, I asked for directions. We got there around 6:30 and at this point, the others were getting plain-old crabby. I wanted to shake them and say: "This is FUN, damnit." hahahahhahhahahahha That was just my first instinct, but now I'm glad I didn't. What is stressful to them, is Sevegram to me. I'll find a Delhi here in Bangkok, I'm sure, and I'll get shocked again; but, where we were in Bangkok this weekend? It wasn't shocking to me. Anyways, I bought some orchids at the flower market (33 cents), and then had to talk on a Thai man's cell phone to his English speaking friend to figure out how to get home to Victory Monument. The man and his family walked us to the bus then and told the bus driver where we needed to go. Kop Kun Ka, sir! (Thank you, in Thai).
I slept until about 10 the next morning and woke up to backpack burn lines and a blistered foot. I went out anyways and got my hair cut; then I spent the afternoon getting lost in JJ Market. I ended up by the pets somewhere. That smelled nice. I walked around the outside to find the BTS. And I found it 😊
Moral to the story: It is very satisfying to find my own way. I'll just keep waiting for the others to learn that lesson too.
Until we meet again,
Amy



Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

DSCN1695DSCN1695
DSCN1695

Mango sticky rice from a boat.
DSCN1696DSCN1696
DSCN1696

Papaya salad, of course.
DSCN1704DSCN1704
DSCN1704

"Jennifer Lynn has been thinking about when THE hot item to have is the fanny pack...again.." This one's for you Jen :)
DSCN1706DSCN1706
DSCN1706

I saw a giant lizard at Lumphini Park. Is it in this pic? I can't tell.
DSCN1713DSCN1713
DSCN1713

Stories in the park.
DSCN1718DSCN1718
DSCN1718

I have to get my GH somehow.
DSCN1720DSCN1720
DSCN1720

Is that like the toy inside the cereal box? Way to ruin the surprise...


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb