Day 1/Bangkok to Surat


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
June 7th 2011
Published: June 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at 7am after a tediously long flight, didnt manage to get any sleep on the flight over although was sitting next to a girl that also had a connecting flight to Bangkok through Mumbai, we got the train from the terminal to the end of the line at phia thai, then a cab to kaoson road to meet with Ross and Calum. Ross decided to sleep on his phone so he couldnt hear it when I called and was wandering up and down this strange road with many tuktuk drivers trying to talk to us, something I had to get used to fast!! Finally Calum answered his phone and came down to meet us, Abbie decided she was going to go find a travel agents that her sister told her about so we said our goodbyes and me and Calum went to the sawadee bungalapoo inn. They had a decent air conditioned room but all I cared about was the shower so once I had said all my hellos I had a shower and felt 100 times better. Then as it was morning here I went down to the restaurant and ordered a pineapple pancake and mixed fruit shake, possibly the best shake ever and the pancake was massive and very fluffly. Then after packing up the guys stuff we decided to go put our bags in the "safe storage" at the hostel so they could show me khason road and the surrounding area. Khaosan road was as hussle and bussle as I imagined although I couldnt have imagined some of the potent smells!! The usual onslaught from the tuktuk drivers was still apparent but I had learnt how that you don't even look at the otherwise they will try and take you to shops to buy a suit so they can get a stamp that entitles them to free petrol from the government. After shopping for some clothes, glasses and food from a 7/11 we decided to go on a quick tour so I could do some sight seeing before we left Bangkok. As we wanted to leave the night I got there rather than the next day we needed to see if our overnight train tickets could be changed so we talked to a tuktuk driver who convinced us to go to a travel agents where we booked some accommodation for Koh Samui and Koh Phangan as well as transfers to krabi after the full moon party, then
We went to the grand temple (insert picture) where we had to put trousers on and it was veryyy humid! It was very extravagant with gold towers (picture) the main draw of your attention. Then as we walked around we noticed so much more intricate decorations. We next visited the emerald budha (picture)which was inside the grand palace it was very big and we had to make sure we didn't point out toes towards the statue as it is disrespectful. Then after the sightseeing we went back to the hostel where we waited for a driver to take us to the train station, we got there and after wandering around wondering where we needed to get our train from we got a kfc which was possibly the worst way to introduce me to thai cuisine!! Then we got on the overnight train to Surat. (picture?) It was another restless night for me in the train with all the noise and temperatures going from clammy hot to freezing cold. I went to bed at around 9ish and woke at what felt like 6am when it was actually midnight. This happened at least 5 more times throughout the night which resulted in me having very little sleep and still feeling jet lagged!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb