Day 2 3


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 25th 2006
Published: May 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So I have made it to Bangkok

The flight wasn't all that bad I slept most of the way.The first two flights I have been on have departed on time and arrived early. Then the flight into Bangkok (where getting there early would definitely help me out), was 30 min late. So I finally landed in Bangkok at just after midnight. The airport there is really old and unorganised. There are hundreds of people walking all over the place, and noddy telling me where I needed to go. I finally made it through customs and out to baggage. I grabbed my bag and was off. As you walk out of the terminal there are tons of people trying to take you all different directions. I finally managed to get a "metered Taxis" they are the cheap ones and was on my way. 30 mins later i have travelled through side streets on highway and finally he said get out. As I was driving I was really thinking how much trust I put into this person who doesn't speak my language in a country I have never been in before. This guy could have taken me anywhere, i really had no clue. He took me to koh san road, which is backpackers lane. I started walking down the road and finally reached a guest house. My room was a small room with a bed and my own private bathroom. I didn't sleep all that well, I am feeling pretty overwhelmed with everything and am not yet use to the time change. The parts of Bangkok I have seen so far are extremely hot and really smelly. I am going to relax for a little while in my room out of the heat, then maybe try and do some touristy stuff this afternoon. My plan is to stay in the part of bangkok i am in for a day or two then head to the east side for a day or two, then I am going to head out. Not sure where yet but when I decide I will let you know.

Advertisement



25th May 2006

Enjoy the experience
Lieve Jos, Welcome to your first real world-wide adventure. It will feel strange for awhile but no doubt, you'll meet a fellow traveller soon or a bunch that will be fun to hang out with. Just be carefull for those that use drugs. I sent you a comment yesterday and I don't know if you actually got it. It does not show up on anything that I can see on this Blog site. So, once you get a little used to the climate, it will be better. However, from my experience, the cities tend to be very dirty and smoky with diesel fumes etc. It is, unfortunately, all part of the adventure and a reason why you may not want to stay in the city very long. Nicole had similar observations as you are finding. Take care and keep using this blog site- great idea. Heel veel liefs, Dad
25th May 2006

love this blog
hey jos, travelblog is the best. i love reading your journals. i bet your brain feel like mush. the time change and the culture shock is enough to paralyze. But what stories you have to tell already! And this is just the beginning. i am picturing alot of dust and heat and helicopters flying over your head. like in that movie Good Morning Vietnam. It's funny how your imagination can be so ridiculous. Keep your spirits high, just when you start to second guess yourself, the clouds will part and the sun will shine, and it will all start to make perfect sense. It's only a matter of time before everything starts rolling. But what an adventure so far, and you've barely left the airport! You're doing such a cool thing.
27th May 2006

Live it up!
Hey Jos, great to get your emails and now reading this travel blog. I can't wait to read more. Have a great time, and enjoy this experience while you can. The real world awaits like a crouched tiger, waiting to pounce, so avoid it as long as you can. Talk to you when you get back, Sonny

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb