Day 1 - Tokyo Aiport


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 23rd 2006
Published: May 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Leaving For TokyoLeaving For TokyoLeaving For Tokyo

747 that I was stuck in for 12.5 hours to Tokyo
So I left Pearson in Toronto this morning at around 8:00. And close to 18 hours later I am at the Tokyo international aiport waiting for my connection flight to Bangkok. There really isn't anything exciting to write about yet as all I really have done is sit on a plane. The 12.5 hour flight from Chicago definitely was killer, I think I watched 4 full movies. It's finally setting in that I am actually doing this. When I first took off from Toronto I had this odd panic/excitment, it just kind of hit me that I am actually doing this.

So I catch a flight in about 3 hours which lands in Bangkok at around midnight. From there I have to make my way 35 KM south to Backpackers lane and find a place to sleep.

Anyways I traded the last of my Canadian money for enough Yen to write a quick not on here, and sample my first Asian beers. So now that the post is done I am off grab a beer and trying and get some sleep.

Advertisement



24th May 2006

Enjoy the Adventure!
Lieve Jos, What a great idea to set up this Travel Blog. Mom and I enjoyed your emails and look forward to reading on what your are experiencing as the journey continues. Have a wonderful time and hope that you enjoyed your sampling of Japanese beers! HVL, Mom and Dad
24th May 2006

so cool
it's 8:20am here, haven't missed much, you just left alot of envious people behind in your dust! there's this free translation link on the net http://babel.altavista.com/ - works pretty well if you need a few words or phrases fast- or you can always resort to charades.
24th May 2006

Just wanted you to know how jealous I am of you! Even a 12.5 hour flight from chicago is better than sitting in Burlington! Good luck on your way to Bangkok and don't forget to look for shawna....gapgirl22@hotmail.com...they're leaving Korea and travelling all over the South Pacific at the end of June! Have an amazing time and don't forget to look out for the male prostitutes... Krista
28th May 2006

Hey Joshua .. I started crying when you described the feeling of "actually doing this" That awesome Love you ...good luvk

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb