Bangkok on my own!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 23rd 2011
Published: May 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


My flight to Bangkok was great! No issues upon arrival with customs, luggage, etc so I have relieved as I had a feeling I would have difficulties for some reason. What a culture shock arriving in Bangkok! The taxi was scary as I had 2 guys in my taxi and they put my luggage in and started driving as I was telling them to turn on the meter. I tried to be forceful and demanded them to turn it on but instead they offered me a rate which I just took cuz I was scared. They charged me 1500 baht which is $48 CAD and it was over and hour drive from the airport to the hotel so I just sucked it up. I have a pre-night booked at the Contiki hotel so I can do my own thing today and tomorrow until 6pm when we meet. Even after check in at the Vientai hotel, I still felt like everything was so sketchy but after awhile, I just realized it’s Asia I need to get used to; not necessarily Bangkok. After a shower to refresh, I walked around the block of my hotel. Went in some shops and got adjusted to how much stuff cost so I could start converting the $ more easily. I was in awe forever just watching the Tuk-Tuks go by me with all sorts of bizarre things on them…selling next to everything. I soon realized that although our hotel is basic, it’s the location of it’s that’s amazing! It’s on Rambuttri St next to Khao San Rd which is the main tourist street and has such a cool vibe so I walked back and forth forever! It started to downpour with rain and the streets disappeared. Back to the hotel and emailed home to let everyone know I was here and settling in. Since I was stuck at the hotel during a downpour, I ate at the hotel restaurant. Had my first Pad Thai and a Chang beer. Not the best ever but ok. Eventually I went back to Khao San Rd cuz I couldn’t get enough…it was weird being alone though as I wish I had met atleast someone to sit and have a beer with or something. Tons of tourists filled the patios with pumping music, sketchy hostels, crazy lights, cool clothes and sunglasses, etc for sale all over. I bought an canvas oil painting of an elephant off a deaf guy in the souvenir shop. Walked around in the rain a bit longer but jet lag set in quick and I was ready for bed at 7pm. Back to the hotel and crashed.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0959s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb