Dear Duffy:


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 27th 2011
Published: May 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Starry Place HotelStarry Place HotelStarry Place Hotel

My back alley hotel, with an accomodating front desk staff. Unless its rush hour traffic in the monsoon; then you're on your own for a taxi.
It's a little lonely in Thailand. No one to hold hands with, no snuggling to keep warm, definitly no samosas with the biologists. I have air conditioning and a refridgerator, a TV and a guard at the front door. My apartment is just down the alley from a 7Eleven and 1/2 mile from a 4-story mall and the sky-train station. I have access to all the bottled water I want; I can order my own meals. I have a Western toilet and a working shower; although, I haven't yet tried the hot water. Who would have thought I would enjoy a cold shower after praying that I could have a hot one for an entire month? Anyways, I'm living pretty in Bangkok, but I still have no BFFI to put his/her arm around me just at the right time. It feels quite different than being in India.

On another note, last night we went on our first bus ride in Thailand. Justin's labmates took us to the Wide Bridge Market then we bussed to the famous Bangkok Flower Market. Trying to get on this bus, I had a flashback to Lalese getting off the train... you know, the one we
My BedMy BedMy Bed

The sheets even say Starry Place. Its pretty classy here.
left Jaime's bags on? hahaha The bus was still moving and I had to jump on. After Kyle jumped in after me, the doors shut and the driver took off. Breakneck speed, and I almost took a nose dive down the aisle. I feel like that on the sky-train too though, like I'm going to do something embarassing aka pull an Amanda and go down with a thump in front of the Jimmy Choo Thai girls. I stand with my legs apart and bent like I'm waterskiing or ready to catch a groundball. Good thing I practiced those things in my youth; I'd be on the walk of shame for the next 10 weeks.

The other bus driver-- since naturally, there are two drivers-- came and took my 8 baat once I was balanced. I just wonder when they stop and see their families, these drivers. There was a bed at the front of the bus where I suspect one sleeps while the other drives at night. Strange and sad, I thought. Still, everyone seems quite content on the bus including the drivers. Katy Perry ringtones go off every now and then, and elbows prop up "tried" but smiling
View from the DoorView from the DoorView from the Door

Yep. I was a little OCD about the joint when I first got here...now you should see the place. Its like a truckstop in India; not that I would know about that ;)
heads.

Once safely ejected from the bus and having walked a short distance, I was speechless at the sight. Both the difference in smells between the Wide Bridge and the Flower Market and also the striking beauty of the petal colors made my jaw drop. Orchids galore, marigolds, and roses. Did you know lotus flowers are cleistogamous? Thats my botanical term for "doesn't open naturally." The florists here open the petals by hand until they look like the Lotus Temple--gorgeous. I thought of you opening flowers by force at the garden in Forest Lake; not because they wouldn't open eventually, but just to cheat the system. "Do it now," says Ms. President. And open, they would.

Tomorrow starts the weekend so hopefully I can get some rest so I can be fresh to redo our PCR on Monday. Oh! and re-streak the plates we can't seem to get right either.

Until we meet again,
Amy


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

DeskDesk
Desk

Not sure if you can see, but I locked my computer to the deadbolt. The clepto is going to have to get out his screwdriver to get this piece of sh**
My BathroomMy Bathroom
My Bathroom

It sure is hot in there. No insulation so I have to keep the door closed so I'm not wasting my air conditioning on it.
ShowerShower
Shower

Ok. So its just a shower head in the middle of my bathroom, but in my book, thats a shower. No buckets here.
My PatioMy Patio
My Patio

Wow. I sure am a lucky duck. I could just sit on my patio any day under the purr of my air conditioner and look out onto the beautiful view of another concrete apartment building. jokes jokes :)
Just Made ItJust Made It
Just Made It

"The fastest bus in Bangkok." Well, thats nice to know AFTER you try to get on it.
First bus rideFirst bus ride
First bus ride

Alisa, Kyle (Chris), Justin, and his two labmates. Sulking Thai man not included.
View from the BusView from the Bus
View from the Bus

"Oh, very nice"
hmmmmhmmmm
hmmmm

NOt sure what these are but AWESOME inflorescences.
LiliaceaeLiliaceae
Liliaceae

6 tepals? I'll need to count those stamens to be sure.
Banana LeafBanana Leaf
Banana Leaf

Saw these on a tree as I was walking home from work today. They were alive.


27th May 2011

What an adventure!
27th May 2011

whoa
those flowers are nuts, amy. Good thing you studied those...too bad you couldn't have sent them in for your collection. you certainly could have gotten 20 in a short time. can't wait to talk to you:)
28th May 2011

Hi Amy! This is so much fun to keep up with you. I love your living quarters - very nice - nice bed! Love the pictures and the flowers are amazing. Send some of that warm weather here. Take Care! Love you lots Auntie Debbie
30th May 2011

FUN!
Hi Amy, Your room looks great and those flowers...are beautiful...what fun!I would have never made it on the bus, my legs are too short and I am too slow!!..it would have been a traffic jam! Storming all morning here...we have had soo much rain..5 inches last weekend and rain again today....send some sun!! Miss you and love seeing and hearing about your work and adventures! Hugs, Auntie Carol
7th June 2011

Wow!
Who would have thunk that Thailand would have nicer living spaces than SUP-TOWN!!!!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb