(Too Many Nights in) Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 6th 2011
Published: May 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I have been encouraged to write a travel blog. Since I'm not really traveling at the moment, this might be a bit light on... well, travel, so here's a brief recap of my last 7 months.

October-December: Traveled through Thailand, Cambodia, and Laos. Long-time goals fulfilled include scuba diving (open water certification on Ko Tao, one of the most popular places in the world to get PADI OW certified), visiting Angkor Wat in Cambodia (HUGE), and seeing World Heritage-listed, gorgeous, and pleasantly chilly Luang Prabang in Laos.

January: Returned to Bangkok to look for work. Employed in large school out in the boonies of Bangkok as a grade 1/kindergarten teacher. I didn't enjoy teaching kindergarten. Children pick their noses a lot. We got an apartment at some time during this month, where we still live. I kind of hate it.

February: Worked at the big boonie school, and went on a visa run to Laos because aforementioned school won't sponsor their teachers for work permits until they've worked there for 90 days.

March: Finished up school year at big boonie school, and, since it was the Thai school year's summer, sought a part-time job at a small language school teaching odds and ends including kids' phonics classes, private students, and a corporate class for adults who work for the Skytrain. Nice school. I'm still employed there.

April: Decided not to go back to big boonie school because I can do better than teaching kindergarten after a two-hour commute. Found a job at a high school near my apartment, teaching biology. The M4s, which translates in Western schools to about grade 10, had a weird two week long summer school, which I taught (poorly).

May: Had a week off and went to Lopburi to see monkeys. Went to Thai Immigration and finally got a visa that allows me to work legally. Bought a laptop. The high school kids come back for real this Tuesday. I'll have M4 and M5 biology, plus M2 general science. Getting burnt out on being a foreigner (the word in Thai is "farang", and it's definitely a word I get sick of hearing). I have more negative stuff to say, but at this point I'll save it for another entry.

Advertisement



7th May 2011

Excellent
I like this idea! You can be as negative as you like, it's your blog. This is me, sending you support!

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb