IF IT LOOKS LIKE A DODGY CAR THEN CHANCES ARE ITS NOT A TAXI


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 21st 2011
Published: April 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

BANGKOK SIZZLING HEAT AND A TAXI ORDEAL FROM BANGKOK AIRPORT



The day started off as planned. I woke up , finished off the left over chinese takeaway for brekkie, cracked open the last can of stella, down a few glasses of wine, say my goodbyes to my family and thats it...job done..capiche..around the world for a year on my lonesome. I didn't feel stressed like i was a couple of days before but i think the dutch courage took the edge off.

AIRPORT BLUES
Things started going pearshaped when i got to Heathrow terminal 3..lets be frank here, terminal 3 is the most confusing place i have ever been too and it amazes me how people get their flight because it's absolutely chaos. I couldn't find my airline since my flight wasn't displayed on the board ( because i'm economy you see..go figures ). When i eventually found my airline they told me I would be flying with another airline . Anyway cut a long story short i was told to go here, there and everywhere, and speak to this person and that person until finally I checked in my baggage. Thank God I went early and had the time to sort this stuff out, but i must admit it was very stressful for me. Maybe for other travellers its part and parcel of the travelling experience, if it is, then its something I got to learn and take on board.

The flight in itself was an ordeal. To anyone else it was probably a normal standard flight but Im not very good with flying and i found it very hard to relax. I really do envy the people who seem to fall asleep throughout the flight with no care in the world. I did manage to dose off a few times but we were getting rough turbulence every twenty minutes or so.

luckly i was seated next to a very cool, chatty, funny scottish girl who said worked
in the military (RAF) Anyway we had a laugh throughout the flight which made things easier. we had the bottle of red wine before the flight dinner but it tasted like paint stripper and turned me really funny and not in a good way.The food came and i had a choice of meat slop or a veg slop. At this point i felt really nauseous and i didn't want either. I chose the veg for my sins, and it looked and tasted disgusting, my face went green and the girl went
into hysterics. I managed to eat a piece of bread, and a salad which was swimming in milk.. this girl must think she is sitting with a retard because I thought this particular sachet was salad cream but i found out it was milk. I managed to pour the milk in my salad..what an idiot..After a coffee i felt so much better..

TAXI ORDEAL

Arrived at bangkok airport and the immigration was very easy.. as soon as i left the Airport
the heat overwhelmed me, its was a like a sauna or when you just open a really hot oven and you get that blast of hot air. I found it very hard to breathe, i suppose it takes getting used too. Then I done something which I know I shouldn't of done.

People are touting me for taxi's, and then a car pulls up and a man asks me if I want a taxi. . OHH its so hot, and i'm so confused, i don't know where I should be going. I ask The man if he has a meter and the guy replies yes..But even as i was getting into the dodgy looking car i knew it was a very bad idea. The alarm bells start blaring in my brain and i had a really bad feeling about it. Then another guy gets into the passenger seat and i ask alarmingly about the meter. The guy points to his car radio like I was born yesterday. The car begins to move and im shouting that I WANT TO GET OUT, im panicing because i can't find the damn door knob. The guy stops the car and he lets me out. then the grinning dodgy guy looks at me with a 'fair cop.' face and directs me to the proper metered cabs. At this point im really drained and exhausted.

A BOUT OF HOMESICKNESS

I finally get to my hostel, its a little basic but im happy with it. I have a private room ensuite
with a television and a little fridge. It very noisy with the traffic outside but i can cope with that, i'm a person with little needs. I thought i'll will try to sleep but it seems to be alluding me, I don't know why because ive been up for nearly 24 hours. I feel tired but i can't seem to get to sleep.

I dosed off for a couple of hours and i woke up feeling very anxious. Infact i nearly started to cry. I had this overwhelming sense of panic, of feeling lost and abandoned. I didn't want to be here, I wanted to be back home..A whole year , how can I last a whole year.I got up and had some fruit pastels for a sugar fix and some water. The anxious feeling melted away and i felt much better.. I know im very tired and i know i haven't had alot of food today and its been a very hard day for me, I will try to take each day as it comes.:-) God willing...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb