On the road again


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 22nd 2011
Published: March 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I hadn't slept well at all last night, whether it was the amount of rich food I'd eaten or lack of fluids yesterday I wasn't sure, but I knew I'd be able to catch up on the bus to Bangkok later. I paid Charlie for my stay and asked if I could leave my bag with him until 2.30pm so I didn't have to lug it around with me. He said I could have the room till 2.30pm as he didn't have anyone checking in today...result! I went to the neighbouring house that he had recommended on my arrival for breakfast. Much to my delight they served what they called an 'American Breakfast' of fried eggs, bacon, ham, sausage, fresh fruit and tost with tea and fruit juice. After a few minutes I could hear things frying away in what I imagined to be a giant wok filled with oil. I was presented with a mug of tea and some tropical fruit juice. Although I'd had Masala tea in India, there really is nothing like a large mug of tea first thing in the morning. I was given my food moments later which I ate gratefully before heading to the seven-eleven for supplies for the trip.

I returned to the hostel, packed my things and headed to the roof terrace - if I was going to have the room till 2.30pm I may as well get some sunbatheing in and shower later I thought. I sweated it out in the midday sun alone on the roof terrace for an hour or so in near silence, save for the singing of the native birds in the background. After showering I threw my backpack on and headed for the travel agent. It was still very warm as I made the ten minute walk there, looking desperately for a tuc tuc to save me from the heat. Sadly none drove past so my top was a little damp when I arrived. I left my stuff and went into the seven-eleven to peruse their cold drink selection whilst secretly relishing the coolness of their air-con!

I went into a restaurant for some lunch and ordered chicken pad-thai and chicken and cashewnuts as I wanted to fill up on proper food before my thirteen hour trip to Bangkok. I knew exactly what to expect as we used to serve pad-thai at The Blue in Crowborough. This was different though, less colourful but, dare I say it if Martyn is reading, more tasty. The chicken and cashewnuts was more sour than I expected but still very rich in flavour. Comfortably full I headed back to collect my bags ready for my transfer to Krabi.

I was collected by what the locals call a 'local bus'; a pickup truck that had had bench seats wealded lengthways into the floorand had a canopy attached to the cage above us. I hasten to add that it was entirely safe to ride in without seatbelts as we were wedged in four-to-a-side each with large backpacks. We arrived at the transfer point in Krabi where another four or five pickups like ours pulled up to drop off more passengers. We were then sorted into coloured stickers as to where we were going - Red to Bangkok, green to Suart Thani and Yellow to Surat Thani to catch the sleeper train to Bangkok...lucky buggers! Bags stowed, we headed off on the road to Bangkok.

We stopped not long after we had set off, as I suspected we might, to pick up more passengers. To my suprise, as I looked out of the window to see how many were getting on I saw Aruna. We waved at each other, laughed and I saved the seat next to me for her. We caught up on the last two days and exchanged horor stories of our journeys into Thailand. The coach journey was fairly sedate and I was grateful of a driver who wasn't akin to Michael Schumacher.

At 7.30pm we pulled over to let the Surat Thani lot off and for a pit stop. The rest area was at a shop run by the coach company for the coach company offering snacks, hot food and drink. I had to give the Thai people their due, they're not slow to miss a trick when it comes to making an extra buck. Aruna and I said our goodbyes before I got back on. She seemed a little down because of her flea infested dorm experience in Kho Phi Phi so I hoped that seeing me and having a laugh had cheered her up. It was dark outside when we set off again but all of the temples were lit by daft artificially coloured lights that still managed to make them look quite spectacular in a way. We continued onwards stopping only once more to stretch our legs and buy more overpriced food if we wanted it. I saw a seven-eleven on the other side of the road and in the half hour we had, made a break for it to get some chocolate. The coach continued on through the night as everyone tried desperately to sleep.

We arrived in Bangkok at 5am, an hour ahead of schedule. I was glad the journey was over but worried as to how to kill time. I knew that there wouldn't be anyone around at the hostel I'd booked that could check me in until at least 8.30am and I didn't know where to go. I knew fate would deliver something and it did. Having paid a quick visit to the local conveniences, a visit not to be repeated hopefully but all part of the rich experience, I eventually found a taxi who knew where my hostel was.. I jumped in, sat back and relaxed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0834s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb