What A Trip


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 16th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So we made it to Bangkok, and no surprise it is HOT! I was sweating as soon as we got off the plane. Getting here was a battle though. On Sunday night, as soon as we got to Chicago, Zach informed he didn't want to go. He said he was not getting on the plane (turns out he is still petrified of flying). I of course started crying and freaking out. I was NOT ready to go on this trip by myself, though would if I had to. Finally at around midnight Zach decided he would try to get on the plane, so I was a bundle of nerves while we sat at the airport, wondering if he would actually get on or leave me. He even was prepared to go get his checked bag back and had his baggage claim number in his hand. Boarding came and one by one, everyone got on... except us. They called final boarding call and we started walking. Then the turd turned around and started walking the opposite direction!! I start crying and freaking out, and the very nice flight attendants gave me sympathy nods. My scene at the airport embarrassed him so he got on the plane hahaha.

I have to say Korean Air is the best airline I have flown on. We got first class treatment in economy. Hot towels, fresh baked snacks, unlimited alcohol (which Zach took part in of course)... I have to admit, a 13 hour flight and then a 5 hour flight does wonders to the butt, and not in a good way. I was in so much pain. I slept a total of 4 hours in two days, and I was not feeling the hottest. I even turned down the last meal service before Bangkok!!! Not like me at all, though I did NOT turn down the cheesecake ice cream.

Got off the plane in Bangkok at 9:30 p.m. It finally hit me we were in Thailand!! Then I got worried my debit card wouldn't work so I was a bundle of nerves until we got our bags and hit the ATM. Of course it worked! I took out 9,900 baht (little less than $300). Good to take out an increment like that so you can get 100 baht notes for the taxi. Luckily for me, I read the guidebooks, so when we got into our public taxi (level 1, section 7), I noticed our surly cab driver did not turn on the meter. I asked him twice, got a dirty look, and he turned it on. Point for Tasha! We paid 80 baht in tolls, and 271 baht from the airport to Soi Rambutri (by Khao San). We didnt even have to pay the 50 baht surcharge. All in all, less than $12 to drive 30-40 minutes from airport to hotel.


Got to our guest house, no problem. Lamphu House for 610 baht a night (about $20). Small room but cute. Hot hot hot. Cranked the AC to 16 degrees celcius, took our key, and was about to hit the streets when the power went out. Of course! Zach was in the middle of changing so I had to leave the door open to let light in while he was half naked throwing on clothes. Went down to the front desk and turns out, you leave the key in the slot to keep the electricity going. Yeah, duh moment. We jimmy rigged it so we could leave the AC on while taking our key with us.

Soi Rambutri is awesome! Reminds me of Venice (including the smell of urine). It is cobblestoned streets, with rows and rows of stores, food stalls, bars (most are just little stands in the streets), and massage parlors. We walked the street for 10 min or so to scope it out, and then hit a food stand. Oh my god! Heaven! Zach got fried sukiyaki noodles with seafood and I got pad thai (played it safe, was still feeling a bit ooky). Zach's was so good I could have died. Mine was aight but Zach managed to polish both our plates off and wanted more, but he resisted. Dinner cost us 100 baht ($3 or so), and we probably could have gone cheaper but it was late and we were hungry and the food was good so oh well. We got a 'big big water' which really is big for 15 baht, about 45 cents and I got a mango shake (eh could have been better). By now I want a massage. It is midnight or so. Zach wants to shower first, so I grudgingly oblige and we got back to our room. By the time he got done dicking around all the massage places were closed. Blast! So we are going this morning and afternoon.

Went to bed at 1:30 in the morning and woke up at 4:15, wide awake. It is 6:30 now and I am at the guesthouse computer. Cost me about 90 cents for an hour of internet. I love it! Zach is upstairs playing his pink Nintendo DS, starving. We are going to go eat then hit the temples!!!!!

Going to try and post some pics here. If they don't work, I will post more later tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



17th November 2010

trip
got your email. was wondering if you made it ok. food looks awesome. sounds like you guys are having a good time. things are good here. watching deer eating corn out of our patio door. almost on the deck!!! smokey has a fit when he sees them at 1:30 a.m. wakes gary up so they can watch them together. mom's not happy being woke up but what the heck. keep on having fun. will wait for your next blog. love mom & dad
17th November 2010

Love it!
Thanks for doing this! I love reading about your adventures! Thanks also for posting about how much everything costs. It really puts everything into perspective. Safe travels! Enjoy!
17th November 2010

Tee Hee
Glad y'all made the flight! Don't forget about checking on my implants!!!! Also check on prices etc for removal of triple chins!!!!! Sounds like everything's ultra cheap==always a good thing! Hope you are trying out the cigarettes there so u know which kind(s) to bring home! Lots going wrong here--they can't match the window tint and told me to come pick it up and Zac's rear tire is FLAT! Animals are fine--cept Sweet Pea is afraid of me!! I even tried to pet her and she ran away so I didn't push it as I didn't wanna rabbit=bite!
9th April 2011
P1000486

inception

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb