Day 1 - Melbourne to Bangkok via Kuala Lumpur


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 13th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After dad not being able to find his car keys we made it to Melbourne Airport with more than enough time. The flight from Melbourne to Kuala Lumpur was about 8hrs and boy did we get some lovely turbulance along the way. But i was so tired that i managed to sleep through most of it anyway. Waited at KL airport for about 3hrs before my connecting flight to Bangkok.
Spent that time with a couple from Melbourne. Emily and Matt from Port Melbourne. They are actually on the same flight home as me. Matt managed 21 scotch n cokes during the flight so was feeling very average by the time we reached KL. 
So i caught my flight from KL to Bangkok where it was quite quick to get through customs etc to be met by the tranfer girl holding up my name on an A4 piece of paper.. I was very happy to see her. She took me round to my driver and i was on the way to my hotel. 45minutes later , after witnessing some terryfing and highly illegal acts on the roadway, and my driver trying to teach me some words in Thai, we made it to my home for the next two nights, the Viengtai Hotel.
I checked in, made my way up the my room, sat down for literally 2 minutes then decided that i shouldn't waste the day sitting in my hotel room.
I made my way down to the lobby and on to Rumbutti Road only to start randomly speaking to these two British girls from my hotel that were off to the Grand Palace in a tuk tuk. I shugged and said "Why not, I'll join you if that's okay?".
So myself, Tash and Charlotte headed off to the Grand Palace. We decided to stop off at the Gallery of Thai History. Kind of interesting but we didn't stay too long. We made our way on foot up to the Grand Palace. I had to borrow a lovely sarong thing to wear in there as you have to have your knees and shoulders covered, paid our 350Baht to get in and found so many people inside. It was absolutely stunning though. Well worth sweating it out in the 30degree heat. The detail and work in these palaces was something that needs to be seen to be appreciated.
After walking around I returned my skirt and we made our way north beside the river to cut through the University then around to head back to our hotel. After stopping many times to look at the map and regain ourselves in the heat we made it back about 40minutes later.
Once again I came into my room, knackerd, but decided that if I had a nanna nap I wouldn't be able to sleep so I chucked on my bathers and went to sit by the pool. About 10mins later Charlotte and Tash had the same idea so that's where we stayed for the next few hours.
Eventually we got up and as I went to enter my room again I got a text from the couple from Canberra, Anne and Jamie, to say they were here so I ventured to their room on the floor below. We briefly discussed their flight over then decided to go for a wander. By now it was dark and the streets were full of neon lights and people trying to get you to eat at their restaurant, or be it street stall.
We walked for a while before finally deciding on somewhere to eat. I had a bottle of Sprite and a ham and cheese croissant. That's all I've had to eat all day. It's been so hot that I hadn't really thought of eating and have been slightly paranoid about eating as I have the farthest thing possible from a cast iron stomach. We walked a bit more then decided to head back to the hotel. It was only 9:00pm but I was knackerd. The heat and lack of decent sleep, and probably lack of food, has taken it out of me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.454s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 83; dbt: 0.1607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb