Wow...


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 11th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So people seem to either love or hate bangkok. Last night with a few beer in me I loved it, however this morning when I awoke to find a rat had been in my day pack eating my food and then proceeded to get the hell out of the guesthouse only to find I was now hauling my pack around near Koa San Rd. dying of heat, I was cursing this place a little. But now I'm in a nicer place with AC and a pool on the roof (Mel it's the D&D!!- but funnily enough I didn't go out looking for it I just reached a point where I'd seen a few really dodgy looking rooms that smelled too bad and was sooo damn hot I decided I'd stay in a nice looking place). It's not really as fancy as it looked from the lobby, but it'll do - it beats rats ANYDAY!!!.
So far everything has gone really well. I LOVE riding in the tuk-tuks. THey are so much fun! Slightly sketch but pretty cool, especially riding in them at night. The food is fantastic, and I'm sure it'll only get better. I really haven't ventured too far from the familiar yet. Pad Thai and fruit so far. I am feeling a little queezy from all the travelling so I didn't dare try something unknown. I have never experienced jet lag like this. I have frigin' insomnia it's so frustrating. I am exhausted but unable to sleep longer than a couple of hours at a time. Hopefully some slow beach life will solve that problem! Tonight I am going to see a ping-pong show, apparently it's just amazing. I'm not really and it's actually pretty wrong, however the couple of english guys I met last night had seen it and said the bar was filled with women as well. So I'm sure the show is partly watched by legitimate perverts and partly by those just curious. Nonetheless, not my thing.
I head out to Ko Chang tomorrow and I"m pretty excited to just chill out on a beach. The water festival (Songkran) starts tomorrow and lasts about a week. I'm pretty happy avoiding it to be honest. I Think the idea is that you get blessed with the water that is thrown at you from everydirection, with the saying "the wetter you are the happier you'll be". Hmmmm, not so sure about that! I have been sprayed a couple of times by some thai kids, so I got a little bit of a blessing and that'll be enough for me!
Anyways, I will write again in Ko chang if they have e-mail, otherwise it might not be til Cambodia.
Hope all is well at home...
love S.
p.s. hopefully these get more interesting eh? I'm sure I"ll do better with a little more sleep.

Advertisement



11th April 2006

So what is ping-pong?!
.....obviously not what i think it is... I love your little journals. They don't need to be deep, just impressions. Feelings are good too! Don't forget to wear long pants and a head scarf at all times. Love, Mum
11th April 2006

Ping Pong?
Does Ping Pong involve naked women or what? Sounds like you're having an amazing time, which is awesome! Enjoy lying on the beach- sounds like you've got your usual charm on and are meeting lots of guys. :) I'm smiling just thinking about you rocking it out over there and am definitely sending good vibes your way. love, sarah
12th April 2006

ping pong
hello susanna, hope all is well, great to read about your travels, how was the "ping-pong" show? i have some friends who also expereinced the show, pretty crazy. life here at the club is busy. I am going to japan in sept !! take care, L
13th April 2006

ahh memories!
Hey susanna, Ah you are bringing back all the memories! I wanna go back! I also attended a ping pong show....quite interesting if you ask me. You should check out some thai boxing if you have a chance. Wish i were there. Oh, Justin and Jill are going to be in China ina few weeks, i told them to email you.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb