Buh Bye Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
April 30th 2010
Published: April 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Check in!!Check in!!Check in!!

I don't know about you, but I like where there head is at :)
So I have survived Bangkok, the heat, the smell, have seen the temples you have to see, taken a boat up and down the Chao Phraya River and have lived through the protests (more on that later).

Day 1.
After finally passing out on Monday or Tuesday (for me) I woke up thinking OMG I'm here, I'm in Bangkok where to go what to do what to see. Being a New Yorker maps are key and I found very early on that the maps in my Travel books were ill-equipped to get me anywhere but on a boat in Phuket (brought the wrong book). So I did what any New Yorker would do I huffed it figuring I could find something on my own two feet…WRONG. After walking on the street and by street I mean where the cars and motor scooters drive with no regard for anything or anyone they will literally and I mean literally bump you if you get to close, I thought let’s not be a New Yorker for the moment and go back and ask the hotel for something to do. So back I went, they instructed me that I was a good 10,000
BreakfastBreakfastBreakfast

$3.95 at Whole Foods, Thailand $.15
meters (Huh?) to the nearest train that would get me anywhere where there was something to do (my hotel was the furthest out of the way that I could find to calm my mother that I was nowhere near the protests). So I decided to save some baht and take a motor scooter to the train, this was before I knew that they would run you over if you got in their way.

So off I went in search of one that would stop, got one and they had no idea where I was going, so they asked another fellow driver for directions, finally found a driver that knew where I was going (and mind you I was going to a major Bangkok Subway stop not some back alley train) he said he would take me, but first he had to have his 9 year old daughter get off and wait and he would come back for her later (I think I interrupted a family trip), I guess the 1 ½ old sitting on his lap was ok for the ride. So they pulled out a helmet which I assumed was for the baby who could care less what
The Reclining BuddhaThe Reclining BuddhaThe Reclining Buddha

This Picture doesn't do it justice...it is HUGH!
was going on as long as he could finish is bottle, NOPE it was for me baby be damned. So I strapped it on and away we went. Now I have been on plenty of Harley’s in my day to know the rules of the road for riding bitch on the back of a bike but in Thailand it is a bit different. Unless you know the driver you are suppose to sit English style ( are you kidding me) I was like dude I will topple this bike over with 1 left turn, he looked and me and even though he didn’t understand he UNDERSTOOD and agreed to let me sit normally, thank God. I very quickly learned that there are no rules when it comes to driving here, scooters have the right of way, the right to cut you off, the right to go around and through traffic as they see fit. And as we were snaking through the traffic at times coming so close to buses and cars that I could feel the heat from their engines on my face - it occurred to me that I was wider than the driver..WIDER meaning if he hit something
The Red ShirtsThe Red ShirtsThe Red Shirts

It's blurry cause I was a runnin.....
I would be the first to feel it, I was starting to rethink this but it was too late. So 15 minutes later and a stop for gas (which I paid for, all of $.75 for a full tank) I finally arrived at the train station. Paid my 200 Baht ( i late found out that that distance is only 120) and was on to my next feat….the train.

There is an underground and above train system here and I have to say it is so easy to navigate, telling you what exit to leave from depending on where you are going; only charging you for the stop that you need to get to, etc. The New Yorker in me took over and I was off without a hitch. I was the tallest woman on the train by far and here you stand in the middle all facing the same way no butts in the face if you are sitting, gonna try and practice that when I get back.
I finally arrived at the one place where I knew I wanted to go and that was to see the Grand Palace. Now had done my research and knew of
Dinner anyone?Dinner anyone?Dinner anyone?

The Fish market near The Grand Palace, I don't know what these are used for I can only assume stew, but then again it could be fish jerky.
all of the tourist scams so I was prepared to not get taken, but low and behold what happens, I step out of the train station and the first Tuk Tuk driver asks where I’m headed and I tell him the Grand Palaces and of course he says that it is closed until 2:30 for a Government function. Now this is like the Empire State Building being closed on a major tourist holiday or someone saying Central Park is closed. I knew it was BS but he was very convincing and promised to take me there once it opened but in the mean time he would take me to other sites around town for only 150 Baht 5 USD. So what the hell I say, come on lets gets this over with. So we headed to our first temple the temple of what? There are 100’s if not thousands of temples in Bangkok this one was just a building with a Buddha. Off to the next site and the next. Then he pulls over and says we have to make a stop a jewel shop, he begs me to go as they pay for his gas and promises me only
Bangkok from a DistanceBangkok from a DistanceBangkok from a Distance

Very much like any other really big city that is surround by third world poverty.
2 minutes I don’t have to buy anything, fine I agree knowing this was coming. We arrive, I look around 2 minutes I’m out, off to the next out of the way “attraction”, again nothing to see. Again he pulls over; seriously, fine get it over with. This was my first encounter with a Lady Boy, lady man as he gave me a tour of facility that was a trip. He was all decked in a black suit but his make-up job looked like it was done by someone from MAC and his hair was in a oh so fashionable ponytail, priceless. I listened tried to seem a bit interested and then had enough and left.

Another stop, now I was like are you kidding me, this was the last jewelry stop he promised, FINE. Off to some art museum, really boring, next. By now I knew the drill and had seen all of the Bangkok I wanted to see, Just get me to the damn Palace already…THEN he made the u-turn I was like you liar, then he said this was a tailor shop not a jewelry shop sneaky little devil. They pulled out all of the
Street FoodStreet FoodStreet Food

Literally, thousands of pineapples everywhere.
fashion books and were determined to make me a knock off Armani, Donna Karen suit and I am pretty sure that I said I don’t wear suits back in the states and I was clearly dressed very convincingly, so they wanted nothing to do with me thank God so again OFF to the next stop.

FINALLY after 2 hours 4 jewelry stores and 1 Dress shop I arrived at the Grand Place, which looked like it had been open for hours. Thanked my tour guide paid my 150 Baht and was on my way. Oh I have forgotten to mention that it was 97 degrees and I have been in the back of Tuk Tuk which is basically a motorcycle with a couch in the back.
I was then informed that I was not appropriately dressed to enter so I had to rent a sarong made of WOOL…seriously WOOL. I was reluctant at this point but after that morning I had to go in, so I paid my $10 and headed inside. Now the Grand Palace is the size of oh let’s say ½ of Central Park with tons of temples and government buildings, after all of that I
Again, the wrong placeAgain, the wrong placeAgain, the wrong place

This was from just down the street from my hostel. Yikes!
made it into 1. I was dying of heat exhaustion, fumes, dehydration and I was starving. For anyone who knows me this was catastrophe waiting to happen, God help the next person I had to speak to. So I took a few photos as I was trying to find my way out of the maze. Once outside I came finally came across a street vendor who had some kabobs all cooked up, asked which one was fish he pointed, I paid, I took a bite…DEFINITELY not fish, really good but it could have been chicken, dog or cat but I finished it like it was taco bell at 2 am. I then immediately got in a metered taxi to take me back to the train station, I’d had enough.

Finally made it back to the hotel after another motor scooter ride, just needed the fastest way back to my bed as possible I figured if I died I would at least a few photos on my camera of Bangkok confirming I had actually been here. I was exhausted and I thought what better way to cure that than with a 2 hour Thai massage for $12 HELLS YES….came back
On My WayOn My WayOn My Way

On the ferry to Ko Samui, after 12 hours on the train, 2 hours on the bus the 1.5 ferry was HEAVEN!
a noodle had some rice and passed out at 7PM. That was the end of my first day in Bangkok.

Day 2
Having fallen asleep at 7PM I was up and awake sharply at 2AM…Yeah ME. So I started IMing with my peeps back in the states giving them the 411 on the trip so far. I was then off to plan my day. Today I would get my own map and figure it out. It took me 3 trains to get to MBK the largest mall in Asia. All of my friends that have visited Bangkok told me I had to come so I did. It is 6 stories tall and has 2500 stores (stalls), but even with all of that it is still just a mall.

Feeling adventures I decided it was time to get on the water so another 2 trains and I found myself at the Chao Phraya River that would take me to Wat Po the temple of the reclining Buddha (which just happens to be next door to the Grand Palace, but I wouldn’t have known that from Adam yesterday seeing that I was in such a fog). This was actually really
Finally landed in Ko SamuiFinally landed in Ko SamuiFinally landed in Ko Samui

More to come on this adventure! Paradise FINALLY and for only $14 a night :)
cool. After my Tuk Tuk tour of other temples yesterday I was not prepared for what Wat Po was….the reclining Buddha is basically the size of the Goodyear blimp but inside of a building, I mean it was GINORMOUS, have never seen anything like it in my life, very cool. Took my time and walked around the grounds and took in the other buildings, nothing new I figure once you have seen one temple you have kind of have seen them all, so off to the next stop.

Hopped back on the boat and headed to the backpacker haven called Khao San Rd. I am jaded I know coming from NYC because it was literally a street with everything imaginable, t-shirt, bags, skirts, food, spas (my favorite sign was Climax Spa) basically a street fair but with tons of drunken tourist, didn’t come all this way to hang out on 3rd ave during St. Patrick’s Day so off I went.
Heading back to the hotel I studied my map and noticed that I could take a more direct route to get me back to me train, good girl so getting the hang of this. Got off at my designated stop , read the sign for my exit and headed towards it when I noticed 15 or so military guards fully armed standing in my way, hmmmmmm. They directed me to take an alternative exit and make my way to the other entrance of the subway, no problem. As I was walking I was again noticing tons of military and Bangkok police, where the hell was I? OH! With my next step I saw it, the tires and barbwire I had gotten off at the one place I was trying so desperately to avoid I was at Si Lom in the heart of the Red Shirt protest, well done Nic, well done. The Police were looking at me with such distain, “stupid tourist” I tried to take a quick photo but was quickly given the death stare to move along which I did.

Finally back at the hotel and very proud of myself for having navigated through the city but I was done with the smell and noise, if I wanted a big city I would have stayed home. So I booked my next leg of the trip, Ko Samui here I come. I need some real R&R for a minute and need to meet some fellow travelers so I’m headed to the beaches tomorrow. Booked a 1st class overnight sleeper had to splurge so I’ll wake up hopefully without a broken back 25USD, not a bad investment.

Day 3
Woke up late today, 6AM thank you ambien. Started packing and realized that this bag was going was going to be the death of me; so let the downsizing begin, I should have listen to my friends who told me to pack for 3 days they weren’t lying, I figure before this trip is over I will be down to 3 t-shirt, 2 pairs of pants (that I bought here), flip flops, deodorant and hopefully a bra. Said my good-bye’s to the hotel staff flagged down a meter taxi no more motor scooter for me (or so I thought) and off to my hostel for the day. I fancy myself as a pretty good traveler, someone who can read a map once and know pretty much how to get around and where things are, I stand corrected.

I mapped out a hostel near the train station so I could relax and just chill out so I wouldn’t have to trek all over with my bag. So I went and picked up my ticket at the station and was then flooded by 5 taxi drivers on where I was going (having a backpack with a monkey on it is a beacon for tourist) gave them my address and they again where dumbfounded on where I was going. Then one brave soul said he knew the address but was going to charge me 300 Baht, are you kidding me my airport taxi wasn’t that much, 200 Baht “he said” I was like no way it’s not that far I’ll hoof it and take the train, big mistake, HUGE!

Back on the train I went, after all it was only 1 stop because I know I how to read maps. Looking lost in the station someone told me that I had gotten off at the wrong stop that I needed to go one more stop, WHAT? Ugh, that one stop would put me right back where I was yesterday (mom ya might want to stop reading now, sorry). So I got off the train again at Si Lom, unlike before I was now lost trying to find my hostel which no one seemed to know where it was. So there I am wondering around the one place I knew I shouldn’t be. I stopped at the first major hotel I saw which is across the street from the King Rama VI Monument (the gathering place for all of the red shirts). He gives me directions; I follow them, they are freaking WRONG and realize now that I am nowhere near where I need to be.

I back track and finally run into a German man who speaks Thai and tell me again that I am 300 meters from where I want to be, damn the metric system how freakin far is that? So there I am across the street from 100’s of military, barbwire fencing, 98 degree weather and backpack that is going to break my back. He tells me I should get on a motor bike (crap) for 40 Bhat and get closer, 300 meter is like 3 x 5th-6th avenue blocks (basically REALLY, REALLY FAR). Now, not only am I once again on a motor scooter I am now on one with not 1 but 2 backpacks one that has to weigh 50 lbs, again WELL DONE.

The driver gets me closer but now he looks lost too, so I thank him, pay him and pull out my map again. Looking around I found a beacon in the distance, a place I know, a place I know can help, a place with air conditioning…..The Le Meridian (thank the sweet baby Jesus). I get there and wonder again why I am staying in a place with 10 beds per room? And then I remember WORK use to pay for this type of extravagance, damn it. Anywho they point me in the right direction and after seeing my frustration and sweat offer me a cold drink (which they later charged me 4 USD for).

Finally, I made it to my hostel which is located at 920 Rama IV Rd (anyone who can read a map will know where I am , clearly my bearings were a tad off, enough said- mom I would advise against you Goggling this one).
So that was my visit in the city of Bangkok. While I enjoyed the sites some amazing and beautiful it’s just another big city with tons of people rich and poor, lots of noise, lots of traffic and heat that makes ya wanna live in a ice box, kind of a combination of NYC, Miami and St, Louis in July.

Bye for now, I hope that my stay on islands is less stressful, God willing.

Nic


Advertisement



30th April 2010

100% enjoyment...
love the blog!! love the adventurous exploring!! can't wait for more, more, more!! : ) xoxoxo
30th April 2010

boo! why wasn't i one of the peeps you were IMing? Bah humbug. Aside from that. lol HILARIOUS. sounds exactly like Thailand traffic and drama in a nutshell. Welcome to the third world! lol :) where next?
1st May 2010

I enjoyed your Thailand post. It sounds like you are having a good time there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have time, email us some at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric
4th May 2010

OMG What a Girl.
You are the most adventerous person I know. I can not believe your Bangkok stories. I would have been crying. I am glad you not there anymore. I will be praying daily for your safe visits. You go girl, you are doing what you want and I love that about you. What a most exciting life you live. I love you and God Bless Mamma P
11th May 2010

Omg, you are crazy and amazing!!
Nick: I love your blog. You should turn this into a book. I love the stories! You are truly amazing and brave! May God keep you safe! Love ya, Beck

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb