What a week!!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 28th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey all!!

I've been quiet this week, mostly because it has been a quiet week!! We've been busy with our lesson plans this whole week.

But... let me tell you about Monday!! Last weekend 14 of us were told we were needed as extra's in this golfing add. So Monday morning, we're ready to leave at 5am and off we go. We arrived at this beautiful, amazing and GREEN golf course at around 7am and were just amazed!! We saw trees and grass!! The things that amused us that day! I think coming from South Africa, we are used to seeing trees and grass on a daily basis and in Bangkok, we don't really get much of that! Even the sky is a rare sighting here so we were very happy to be able to spend the day there.
A few of us were taken straight to hair and make-up while the others had a breakfast of fried-race (yummy!!). We were all dressed as golf fans (golf shirts, shorts and sneakers) and then driven to one of the greens where they were filming a shot. We were the eager spectators waiting in anticipation for the golfer (some Thai golfer, name unknown) to hit the ball. We had to jump and cheer and clap our hands!! We felt really cheesy in the begining but soon got over that and became one with the cheese! So for the day we were moved around and became the biggest, most supportive fans for this nameless golfer! I think the highlight of the day was when they were filming the British PGA scene and we were asked to wear winer clothing!! Jackets, scarves - it was fabulous! This was around 3 in the afternoon, I was the fortunate one to have gotten sunburnt. Now for those that know me, you'll know that it doesn't take much. So there I was walking around with my shorts on and the front of my legs bright red and the back of them were a shade of lumo white! I must've looked a sight!! As you can imagine, the winter gear did not help matters!
So at around 6pm we were told we were done for the day - "That's a Wrap" sorry, I had to add that. They didn't really say that but I couldn't help myself!
After a long, exciting, thrilling and truly quite scary minivan taxi trip back we had to catch another fast paced and pulse quickening taxi trip back to our soi! Wow, there were 5 of us crammed into this taxi, now that includes 2 big guys and me on the floor!! We saved money and that's all that helps here!

The rest of the week consisted of class and creating lesson plans. Thursday night was my first night out in Bangkok and we decided to take a trip to Khaosan Road to party it up in The Club. Not my scene! But we enjoyed it anyway!

Got home at around 5am and did the inevitable - I bunked for the first time during the course! It was worth it though!

Last night was chilled and we all sat in my room, drank "white spirit" and played card games. One of us came up with the bright idea to go and Kareoke. We didn't know where to go so missioned on down to Cara's where we gathered a group and got the Thai owner to take us to a 'highly recommended' place.... ha ha ha... it was hilarious! We had a good time though and can say that we've ticked that off our list!

Guys, this hasn't been an exciting week so the blog hasn't been great! Will definitely try get up to some more stuff this week that will make for interesting reading!

Ciao Ciao BYE!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0731s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb