Hot, Humid and Hectic


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 17th 2007
Published: March 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The trip started off well. We had loads of spare seats on the flight and copious amounts of alcohol.. hic, and watched some great movies (The Departed and Dream Girls). I wish all flights were like this :-)

We are staying in a hotel near Khao San Road (backpackers haven) which is luckily not too noisy.


So far we have been shopping at MBK - my heaven and Chad's hell :-) I even got to try out my haggling skills and didn't do too badly - managed to get 70 bht off a sarong! I think I need more practice though... he he :-)

We have been trying to stick to our daily budget. So far, we have been getting our food from the market vendors. I have to say, the food is fresh, sooooo tasty and best of all, cheap! Chad is very impressed with my beer drinking skills. We have been having Chang beer every night (large bottles - 45bht) and I am handling it well and even enjoying it, shock horror :-) I'm sure I will have withdrawal symptoms from not having my vino :-(


We have also been to the Grand Palace which was fantastic - lots of vibrant statutes - a great insight into thai history, it really is amazing how much they revere their king. Not how we treat our royal family.

We have had all the usual "tuk tuk" scams tried out on us - we are clued up thanks to the Lonely Planet guide and they haven't fooled us yet.

It has been hard trying to adjust to the humidity but the hotel pool is certainly helping us to adapt :-)

We are looking forward to getting out of the hussle and bustle of city life and heading to the beaches to relax.

Next stop Prachuap Khuri Khan........ hopefully :-)

Ps. Many happy returns to Chad's Nan, hope you had a lovely day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb