Bangkok night train to surat thani..get my DEET


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 13th 2009
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

12/13
Today we did a canal tour and then went to the Grande Palace. We saw a monitor lizard just hanging out on someone's porch...what do you do when that happens?
Grande Palace- make sure you are dressed appropriately or the will make you rent clothes. Shoulders must be covered with a sweater or shirt ....cannot use a shawl. I went with long gauze pants, tank top, and a long sleeve shirt. You can also wear flip flops. Be careful, don't fall for the scams out there. The Grand Palace is not closed...just keep walking towards the entrance. I had already been to the Grande Palace so I won't do much commentary. It seemed more exciting the last time I came because it was a holiday so there was more activity going on. Bought a nifty fake Pashmina scarf to use as a cover up, blanket, or pillow cover. Got it for 100 baht. The hawker tried to sell it to me for more because it's "Pashmina"...uh no it's not and I know it's a fake so I pushed to get it lower. You can tell if it's a real pashmina (silk or silk blend) by doing the burn test. If it melts then it's probably rayon and from china. I think I got it cheaper than the ones I bought in china 😊 I heart scarves!
Right now we're on the night train going from Bangkok to Surat Thani. Decided to be brave and ate dinner in the train station. Had fish ball soup. It was a little intimidating as there were only locals in there, but it was delicious! Went to the book store and thought that it was interesting that the "thai interest" section was all about the sex industry. I thought it was a little sad. See the picture as proof!
The train is older and not as nice. Ew, the toilets on this train are squatters. I successfully managed not to pee on myself. Got lucky as the toilet was just cleaned so the floor wasn't wet (I hate that!). Then a little roach crawled up to my bunk...it had to go! After that I took 2 xanax and forced myself to sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

grand palacegrand palace
grand palace

note the appropriate attire...
water monitor lizardwater monitor lizard
water monitor lizard

would not want this on my porch!
Bangkok train stationBangkok train station
Bangkok train station

Everyone spreads out on the floor to wait for their train.
thai interests?thai interests?
thai interests?

I thought I was in the autobiography section then I realized it's all about thai prostitution...why is this in the "thai interest" area in the book store. So sad.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb