Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 13th 2009
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Wow, that was one super long journey. I think it took about 35 hours to get here from the time I left my front door.

Bangkok seems like a really cool city so far. A lot of different people from all over the world!! You see them all just walking down the street. We spent our first day just doing the typical tourist thing. We managed to knock off the Grand Palace, Grand Mount (awesome view from the top), Happy Buddha, Golden Buddha, and a river boat tour through the city. Thailand is celebrating the King’s birthday today, so they’re having concerts and fireworks (1 hour 10 minutes worth to exact) at the city centre, but we opted to skip it. We were supposed to catch a Mua Thai boxing match at Lumpini Stadium yesterday, but we napped a little longer than anticipated, so we missed it. I think the jet lag finally caught up with us.

We’ll be leaving Bangkok Tuesday morning, and we’ll be making our way up to Ayuthaya (former capital city) for a day of sightseeing. We hired a driver/guide for the day, so it should make getting around a little easier. From there we’ll be catching the overnight train to Chiang Mai. We’ll be there for 2 days, which includes one day of trekking. Should be fun, elephant rides, waterfalls, bamboo boats, etc…
I’ve attached some pics, talk to everyone soon.

Cheers!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



13th December 2009

Nice....
hey bud, glad you made it have a great time, stay outta trouble.
13th December 2009

Happy
I am so happy for you I feel like I am there with you sounds like your having aa great time the elephant rides sound like fun I would need a big elephant to ride on LOL keep taking picture this is a trip of a life time.
14th December 2009

I'm so thrilled for you
Rui, my riggers! I love that you did a blog for this trip. It’s the perfect way to stay in touch and keep people posted. This is the first blog I've read as I haven't checked this account. I'm so excited to follow you on this magical and adventurous journey. Jessica
15th December 2009

WOW
Looks like you are haveing a good time. Get your ass back here!
7th January 2010

i'm thinking of extending my stay another 2 1/2 weeks!! what do u think boss?
7th January 2010

Thank u punmpkin. Means a lot!! I'm really glad you're enjoying it, and I'm hoping that you had a great holiday season, and a great time in Mexico! Thanks for eveything kiddo!! Hugs and Kisses!!
7th January 2010

Dude, these elephants are like HUGE!! It's amazing how big and strong they are!!
7th January 2010

Sure thing bro. It's the 7th already !! Where does the time go?? C u soon!!

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb