Next Stop:More Islands!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 12th 2006
Published: March 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Man I got to Bangkok the day before yesterday. I hadn't slept the night before because I took a night bus and I can't ever sleep on the bus. Now I'm travelling with a cute Israeli girl named Rotem that I met on Don Det Island. She's a lot of fun and I'm kinda trying to learn some basic Hebrew but its so hard! Rotem goes home at the beginning of April so I'll be on my own again after that I guess.
Bangkok is huge! It was a lot to take in, being all tired from no sleep and such. But it's a lot of fun. Only trouble is that the cost of fun is comparable to costs at home. Thailand is going to cost me a fortune. It is like being in a big city in North America. They have 7-11, McDonalds, Burger King, and crap like that. So you can get anything you want.....anything. I bought some Valium at a Pharmacy to help me sleep on the bus tonight. (please let me know if Valium is not a good thing to be taking. You need a prescription in Canada for that stuff. But I'm desperate for sleep on the bus.)
And there are hookers all over and tons of ladyboys (transvestites). Weird thing is, in Thailand it is not looked down upon to be a ladyboy. So they are totally accepted by the locals, just not by me! You can't even tell the difference and I just plain don't look at any of the Thai girls, just in case. Creepy.
But it's been good so far in Bangkok. I bought a decent digital camera, a CD player, and everything else I could think of that I needed. But Rotem and I are taking a bus tonight to Ko Pha Ngan, an Island known for its Full Moon Parties. Actually, I have to take a bus and then a boat. The full moon in on the 14th so I think that we will be screwed in trying to find a place to stay. These parties are a big deal and the Island is packed allready.
Bangkok is so hot. It will be nice to hang out on the beach. In southeast Asia it is against local customs to walk around shirtless, but at least on the beach you can kinda keep cool with just a pair of trunks on. And wow I think I'm actually losing my beer belly. I drink way less than I did at home (because there are actually things to do here). The food is great but simple so I'm not snacking and eating as much. It's just too hot to eat a big meal.
But Bangkok is the first place you can actually pig out bigtime. I ate supper at the Outback Steakhouse yesterday, and had some mega tasty ice cream today. The Western-style restaraunts are all air conditioned, as well as the zillions of huge shopping malls. So it's quite different than anywhere I've been thus far on my travels. I went to see a Muay Thai boxing event last night but the cost for tourists was outrageous so I didn't end up buying a ticket.
I gotta catch that bus to the Island now......we leave at 6:00 pm and arrive tomorrow morning at 10:30. Talk about torture. So I think after all that I will deserve a bit of party time!

Advertisement



13th March 2006

BANGKOK
hey scowie hows it been bring me back something good like ur ladyboys lol well hope u didnt get BANGKOKED there that would suck well get ur ass home so we can help tyler not be a pussy wussy have a godd one miss ya
13th March 2006

Amazing
Well it sounds like you are have a blast, well i just want to say a quick hi and i miss ya, we want ya back home.... love ya lots Toni xox

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0585s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb