My Thoughts of Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 29th 2009
Published: November 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

My Impression of Bangkok.

Been here a few days now and I can safely say I havent warmed to the place. I had a rough idea that its was going to be a stepping stone onto the next location but I guess I didnt know what to expect.
Went for a wander yesterday down some little back streets and had a walk around the little market stalls that line the edges of the road. Taxi drivers, tuk tuk drivers , stall owners all heckling me for a fare or “come see my selection of suits. . . .”big sizes, you buy you buy”.
Fair enough they have to make a living in a run down area ,but 75% of the markets were selling the same thing. Suits and shirts. If they actually cared to take a little look around, theres loads of people in shorts n vests, sweating enough as it is looking for the nearest air con‘d bar. Why on earth does anyone need to start being measured up for wedding attire? Not only that, these market stalls are set up OUTSIDE TAYLORS AND FITTING SHOPS!!??!!? Baffling!
Im still yet to find a little bag,I set out yesterday to go buy a towel and a bag for a bit more security,(rather than wallets in pockets) I gave up on the bag as I couldn’t be botherd with the “you buy you buy” ‘s anymore but stumbled across an actualy beach towel stall. Ha what are the odd’s something different I thought. I chose a towel with a friendly smile for the old woman that was selling them, suddenly getting out her calculator to figure out how much tourist % she should put on to charge me. She said “550bht” .
I paid. . .but just as I did and walked off. . .I rememberd to haggle. . . Doh!!!!! I must admit it was a rarity for me to miss an opportunity for something like that but I was so tierd and miles away I didn’t care. Next time though!!!! . . . . . . . .£11 for a towel in Bangkok. . . . . . . . .GRRRRR! J

While Im here the only attraction I wouldn’t mind having a look around is the Grand Pallace. I think I might head there at the weekend and also figure out where to go next. I have two options, (Well Im sticking with two because its difficult trying to decide as it is)
I could either head north to the mountain and forest region,Chang Rai,Chang Mai and Pai. Or I can head south to the beaches to a place called Surat Thani, where I can get a boat across to Koh Samui and Koh Phangan.
I think the latter might be the choice for now. . . Im absolutly nakerd and so leaving another sweaty humid city for another time sounds pretty good to me. Il go search for a bit of paradise.
I saw on a tourist office board yesterday loads of different prices for transport to different areas. Saw that there was a V.I,P coach to Cang Mai for 350bht. That cant be right surely! It was about 10 hours to get there for £7. (V.I.P coach just means air con lol) Iv heard and read somewere about scam busses going to places . . . .Im not sure what they are exactly . . .gona have to have a look into it. Althaugh everything seems like a scam in this town.

Food, food, food.

Since I got off the plane Iv completely lost the will to eat. Yesterday I orderd a sandwich from Wild Orchid (which is very good by the way) but struggled to even finish. All ingredients are fresh here and there’s alot of people that head here for lunch and evening dinner. I think its maybe the best places to eat around here because all the other places seem to be empty. Theres a wide veriaty of western choice, Pizza, burgers, fries. . .but they also serve a big selection of Thai. Gona have to see if I can manage to try some local dishes later this eve.
Before my arrival I was lead to belive I was gona try eating at the famous street kitchens of Bangkok, where local peeps prepare rice, noodles and various dishes, but the ones Iv seen so far would have ya feelin pretty ill in no time. Although I did see a few fresh fruit on ice trolleys before that looked amazin with massive bits of pineapple ready to eat. . . . . But on ice. . . .and all my guides constantly keep saying take a rain check on the ice. Or am I just being to cautious? Il go with my instinct J
But if I see of smell another grilled bannana with its skin on Im totally gona barf! Especially next to a skewerd squirrel. . . .or whatever mystery meat it was.

Managed to get myself a bag today J even rememberd to haggle and got it for half price happy days.
Also as I was on my wander,I was talking to a tourist police officer.(Don’t ask me what the difference is) I think there all corrupt, Iv learnt v quickly not to trust anyone here especially when they are over friendly and Thai people are usually reserved.
Wanderd through the university today. Was such a difference to be around local people and how much less hassle you recive off random tuk tuk gizas and random money wanting strangers.
Through the uni at the other side was a whole load of local life going on. . .with a lot more street vendors with people actually buying and being there way of life.
It was pretty cool. Iv got some videos but tryin to get them sorted out. . .got a few software problems at the mo.

Advertisement



9th December 2009

Thai Orchid
That is great. I like thai food very much. Thanks. Thai Orchid
13th January 2010

beach towel stall?
I know this is random but I can't seem to find beach towels here. Where was that stall you got ripped off at? :O

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb