Arrival!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 29th 2009
Published: November 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Im now sat in my accomodation,Wild Orchid Villa listening to some funky tunes in the big open air lounge bar area.Really chilled atmos. . . . . . so much different from the tale Im about to tell.
Started off from Sunny Carnforth train station,made a little video for everone on the new swanky camera saying my final goodbye but forgot to switch it to J-peg setting and my computer doesnt detect HDMI leads that especially arnt plugged in . . . or even in the same country.But its the thought that counts ehy. . . .
Anyhow. . . got the train . maid it down to Manchester station in good time.Got way lost trying to find terminal one but got there in the end just in time for checkin as it was just opening,god Im good.
Checked in got my boarding pass. . .but aparently inseted of saying goodbye to the backpack like u usually do givin it the final silent wave as it get savaged by conveyor belts rippin it in multiple directions,"it goes in the soft bag section sir round the corner" tit!. . .made its way ok enough when I went to OZ foo.
So,headed off into the departure lounge stopping off at WH Smiths to grab myself a Thai Phrase book considering Im gona have time to learn a little :-)
So off I roared down the runway heading to Dubai without any hand luggage I may add.Felt pretty good not havin to reach for the overhead lockers or have shoulder strapps diggin into u as ya usually load it up through the duty free,like u do.
Dubai Airport. Its got to be the most un-organised multi million £££££ airport Iv ever whitnessed.After walking off the plane. . into a wall of heat I may add. . we came to a grindin halt in a narrow corridoor. . . where after a few minutes people started to become red faced and well pissed off! (theres me in a light t-shirt after I discarded the jumper into a bin back in manchester. . . . .always thinkin ;-) )
Got to the end of the corridoor to the reason why we were being held like sheep ready for a wool extracion. 1 DUDE! Sorry . . .Airport official security guard full of his own importance thinkin hes was the man with his little radio. .. .which I may add. . .suddenly got a pissed off head of security havin a rant in some arabic lingo.My guess is where the fuck are all the English cos there not in the duty free shops spendin pounds. Yea. . nice one!
The Duty free shopps are way cool though. . .gold everythin!
Eventually found my own way to my next boarding gate to Bangkok. . . . .
Sat in

Advertisement



8th December 2009

helenium
Hi Andy - I am new to the blog, but a lover of Lonely Planet... thanks for your recent advice on Ko Samui. I am curious about your stay at Ko Phangnan. I am planning a trip next month - still don;'t know where to stay there. this will be our first time in Thailand. Any advice on good, comfortable digs - mid range price is OK - we like quiet, serene nature rather than party life. thanks for your help! (Read your blog - your current travels sound fascinating!)
16th January 2010

towel
Hey,I got my towel on a street stall that ran near Koh San Road.I think It might of ran along side but Im not to sure. It was around there somewere,I got a little lost lol

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0189s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb