Asia - Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 29th 2009
Published: November 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, so here I am,...Bangkok. After spending 2 more then great weeks in Riga I flew out to Berlin on Friday morning to catch a flight to Cairo from there and then to Bangkok.
Of course the flight to Bangkok was 1h late so I barely made it to the connecting flight. but in the end, everything went well.

I arrived at the airport and there was a huuuuuge line for getting through customs. After an hour or so I finally got through and found out (at the luggage pick up) that someone demolished my Backpack even more. Well, after 10 years one could suspect that It is time to slovlychange it, but, hell, it has gone through so much and still working well, the good old fella.

I took the Airport express to the city and walked from there to the hostel. Was pretty easy. The hostel is a small Boutique one, supposedly one of the best one on the planet. I have my shared opinion about this, but to be correct, it is quite nice.
First thing i did, after shower was to get to a shopping Mal and get a Lonely Planet. They are shitty books, but it is non then less quite useful If you get into a place where you have never been before. The shopping Mal here are enormous. And there is a massive amount of people there even at working hours. The sport part is as big as our whole shopping center in Maribor and you can get almost everything. And price-wise thing seem to be quite cheaper.
So after the shopping i headed out and just randomly ran into a big Motorcycle event. A lot of custom made bikes, small men dressed in leather, pretending to be cool and by their side usually in leather dressed chicks. Quite a nice show.
The most interesting part was the way home. As i took a taxi there I took a TucTuc back and boy was this a ride. I know what fast means, but riding on the back seat of a three wheeled motorbike at 90km/hour and not obeying or following any traffic rules at all... i was a little scared. Not to mention, that the guy didn't know where the hostel is and i had to take another taxi which tried to rip me off and finally I got out on a big square and started asking strangers. Took me only 90mins. to get home.
Great day all in one.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

HmmmHmmm
Hmmm

Notice the sigh on the building ? And that with all the bikes and pollution around...


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb