Sayonara Japan Sawa dee Kaa Thailand!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 26th 2009
Published: November 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Dead fish, amazing sushi, and plane rides





After being put off by the rain yesterday I made myself get up again at 4 30 am to see the Tsukiji Fish Market dragging Andrew this Aussie guy staying at the same hostel as me as my half awake quasi willing victim. Deciding that 4 30 am would be too early to try and figure out the Tokyo subway I had planned our route out the night before, only to find that the main line we were planning on riding wasn't open yet. I do admit that I did an amazing job for rerouting us back on track, although trying to explain the new route to a half awake Aussie proved to be the difficult task. So finally after much stumbling around in the dark looking for this market we knew we were on track by the lovely smell of dead fish.




Once inside the market I snapped wide awake shocked by the sheer intensity of it. Massive dead tunas with their heads and fins being sawed off, boxes of dead squid, eels stuck in their own blood, live cuddlefishs and blowfishes, and pretty much any other dead sea creature you could ever think of wanting to eat. No matter where you stand or walk you always feel in the way, there are forklift buzzing by you you on both sides and people cutting every which way. Funny that you would think that after seeing all of this I would be put off fish for a while but actually for me it was the complete opposite I walked out feeling starving and in the mood for some proper fresh sushi. So we went to this fantastic little sushi joint with only a sushi bar with about 6 stools, and some great sushi masters with slogans! Every time they finished a plate they would "aaaaattttchhhha" at you as they put the plate out in front of you. They were also cracking jokes pretty much the whole time, and the sushi they served was absolutely stunning! Left the place feeling like I could keel over at any moment cause I was so full.




Straight after it was back to the airport to say goodbye to a country that I felt like I was just getting to know. Flight went off with out any hitches, 6 and half hours and wooolllaaa I was in Thailand. Patiently waiting for me was Adrian holding his modest "Welcome Princess Kelsey" sign which I requested. Following the sign was some bad news, that the only other task I had given him he had FAILED. Which was sorting out accommodation.... Luckily for him I was in a swell mood and happy to be seeing a good friend, and he did at least accomplish one task and he did also carry my backpack for me so I forgave him and off we went in to the jungle that is Bangkok. First stop was to sort out accommodation, which proved to be well easy as I think Adrian might be mildly retarded as there actually was room in the same guest house. Maybe I am just so charming that they made room for me, an entirely possible reason. Had some delicious yellow curry with rice and a Singha beer to settle in, then set about the infamous Khaosan Road, a backpackers mecca.




Was definitely pleased to see that everything was just how I left it in 2007. Endless street vendors selling everything from flip flops, knock off brand name clothing, fake ids, to pad thai and banana pancakes. Every step you take someone is beckoning you to come and see their shops, handing you a flyer for drinks or trying to persuade you to see a "ping pong" show. Fantastic place to people watch we discovered as we stopped to have a 2 for 1 cocktail called Bubblegum which Adrian picked out (which was absolutely rancid, much too sweet... but I guess that's why they were 2 for 1) on the main drag. By about nine o clock I was on my last tank of fuel and had to call it a night.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb