Cinderella, Belle, Winnie the Pooh, and Goofy too!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
November 25th 2009
Published: November 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A day of enchantment and astonishment



So after dragging myself out of bed at 4 30 am, getting dressed, doing my hair and brushing my teeth I was all set for my journey to the Tsukiji Fish Market, open the door and all I can see is rain... not feeling so optimistic I turned right back around and crawled back into bed till 9, at which point it was still raining.



By 10 am the rain had turned to a drizzle and I set about my day... Starting with a trip to Akihabara which is known for its crazy electronics and Anime stores. And again I was not disappointed! So I meandered about staring longingly at all the neon cell phones and mini laptops. Journied into another world in the Anime shops with scantily dressed super heroes and crazy plot lines. By this time the clouds had cleared up so I saw it as a sign that Tokyo Disneyland was calling me!!



I can't hardly put to words the excitement I felt as the train came around the final corner and the towers from the Disney Castle came into sight. Jumping off the train, fighting the urge to prance to the opening gates I could feel the magic pumping in my veins. Looking up at the enchanting castle before me I knew the trip was worth it. Truly amazing, right through the doors Winnie the Pooh and the mice from Cinderella were there to greet me. Too excited to know what to do with myself I went straight to Fantasyland, before I could head to any rides I was halted by the Jubilee Parade which I am pretty sure I enjoyed more than any of the kidlets there. After an unsuccessful search for Goofy to have my picture taken with him, I was off to the rides! Splash mountain, nightmare before Christmas haunted house, and it's a small world were some rides that I deemed worthy enough to wait in line. Not sure if it is just in Japan or in Disneylands everywhere but I found that the cues had cues for the main cue, if that makes any sense. But basically I would be waiting in line then they would let you in a building (I would thinking "yes!") only to find yet another line!! After exploring the park and taking in all of the magic one can bear in a day I was off to Ginza (the ritzy shopping district in Tokyo) to go and browse at item I will never be able to afford, especially when you look at the prices in yen!



Ginza was another worth while experience the sheer elegance of the buildings and the display windows was truly breath taking! Found a proper tempura house, with some unreal dishes so I chilled there enjoying my last night in Japan, sipping a Asahi and listening the Japanese chatter surrounding me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb