Photos from Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
October 30th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Bangkok Photos


Here, belatedly, are a few photos of Bangkok. I tried with no success to get my wifi fixed on my netbook, so I am still having to copy the blog and the photos onto a flash drive then go to a public computer to upload both to TravelBlog. We'll be on to Luang Prabang, Laos today for 5 days so hopefully I'll be able to find somebody there to fix it



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Grand PalaceGrand Palace
Grand Palace

Scene from Ramayana - part of mural stretching hundreds of feet inside a portico.
Emerald BuddhaEmerald Buddha
Emerald Buddha

Actually made of solid jade, the Buddha has different garments for the rainy, dry, and hot seasons. The garments are changed by the king at the appropriate time.
White Elephants of Good LuckWhite Elephants of Good Luck
White Elephants of Good Luck

Coated in black to discourage people from touching them.
Siam Heritage HotelSiam Heritage Hotel
Siam Heritage Hotel

Rooftop pool - a lovely place for a refreshing swim after spending the day with Grand-Palace-Closed-Today scammers.


5th November 2009

Regarding your wifi, have you made sure there isn't an external switch on your netbook, that needs to be 'flipped' in order to enable a wifi connection? When I got my laptop a few years ago, I spent forever trying to connect to the internet, only to find out it was one tiny switch on the front of it, then voila! Anywho, very beautiful pictures. I'm so envious! I hope you guys are having a great time.
6th November 2009

Hi Trix!
Thanks for the suggestion, but I have used it in the past just fine and now I've had it technicians in both Thailand and Laos who can't fix it, so I think it's back to the manufacturer when I get home. Glad you're enjoying the blogs!

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb