The Acorn Syndrome


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
March 2nd 2006
Published: March 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well due to circumstances that are too embarrasing to recount in this journal, i do not find myself in Chiang Mai and am actually in Pattaya, just south of Bangkok, its weird how things work out sometimes. Anyway the first night that i was meant to be inChiang Mai i actually found myself back at the Shanti Lodge hostel in Bangkok contemplating what to do, i really did not know what my plan would be at this time, but i decided to look through my lonely planet guide and find somewhere nearer to go for a couple of days while i decided what my revised plan would be.

The place i decided to go to was Pattaya, it wasn't far away and i figured it would be intersting to see as a curiosity while i planned my next move. I got on a bus that was bound for Pattaya and after getting on the bus i realised that i had been quite naive about a few things.

Firstly the bus didn't just leave the city on its way to Pattaya, it basically toured all over Bangkok searching for as many people as possible to get on the bus. The bus appeared to be run by four guys, the driver and three other Thai ghuys who would get off the bus every few miles and railroad people into gettig on their bus, they also seemed to succeed in getting many people to get on the bus, which seemed weird. In fact this all seemed weird but i told myself i was dealing with a different culture so needed to be prepared for "weird" things.

And, well perhaps more worryingly at one point when the bus stopped the driver and his three cohorts stormed out of the bus and began beating the hell out of a guy that was there, and they weren't just giving him a little beating they actually beat the absolute crap out of him. Now, can anybody reading this recall a time in the UK when a bus driver and his conductors get out of the bus to beat the absolute shite out of someone they just saw (i don't know how they knew him incidently but he took one hell of a beating).

At this point i was somewhat perturbed by what i had seen and started to think that me being on this bus was not such a good idea, i did not think they wouold try to do this to me but hey i was not gonna take asny chances y'know. So a few miles down the road i told the driver that i wanted to get off and so the bus stopped for me and i got out, i was still somewhere in Bangkok, admittedly io did not know where but more than anything in felt being on that bus was not the right thing.

I saw some taxi drivers around and asked them if they would take me to Khao San Road, they said they would but only for 400 Baht, i wanted to be put on the meter (which would be cheaper) but they said no to this (they would make more money) so i just walked off. I flagged down another taxi and through the window told him where i wanted to go but he refused to take me (probably because it was so far he woulod not break even on the coast). I thought about what to do and this time i flagged down a taxi again and this time opened the door put my bags in, got in myself and closed the door. Only then did i tell him where i wanted to go and i displayed a demeanour that came accross as me believing that he could not refuse to take me and he did.

Back on Khao San Road i booked into a four star hotel for the night (yes, i am a bit sad) and tried to figure what i could do. I considered flying to Chiang Mai (something that i really want to now do at the end of my time in Thailand), heading to the islands in the Gulf or maybe having one more attempt at seeing Pattaya (but i really wanted to avoid the bus and i was told the train does not go there).

So the next morning i Went to a travel office and discovered that i could go to Pattaya for two days via a minibus get back Friday and then get the overnight train to Surat Thani and a subsequent boat trip to Ko Samui (just for 700 Baht) so in figured this is what i would do.

The driver of the minibus was not the worlds safest driver by a long shot, but it was no where near as disturbing as the bus ride so i just went with it.

I have now spent one night here in Pattaya and i am here tonight and i get the minibus back at 1200, i should be in Bangkok around 1530 in preparation for my train ride to Surat Thani at 1820, arriving next morning with a boat ride to Ko Samui soon after.

So there you have it, another chapter in this seemingly pointless (and actually pointless) travel journal. Anyone got any comments on this entry, please email me if you have.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb