bai thailand


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 19th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After some breaky we got showered up and decided to go watch a movie. Finally saw Transformers 2, a really nice movie especially when you have the theatre all to you self for 80b ($2.67). After Transformers we did some window shopping, I found some Ed Hardy shirts that I was thinking of getting but they were a bit expensive at $4. After shopping we headed back to Khao San and grabbed some street food. Some of us headed to Patong Markets which is home to the Ping Pong shows but only to do some shopping. Shopping there wasn’t all that great though, we were continually bombarded by people offering us sex shows, needless to say we declined. We got back to Khao San and since we were doing a tour tomorrow leaving no time for last minute shopping I decided to get a few shirts then. I didn’t get my Ed Hardy shirt but then I did get some cool shirts for $3 to $6. When I finished I met up with everyone on Khao San and it was 1am, we had to wake up at 7am to catch a tour.

We woke up and managed to still score our free breaky before it was too late. We drove for about an hour or so then boarded a long tail boat to the floating markets. It was a pretty site, nothing I’ve ever seen before but after walking the length I felt like ‘was that it’. After an hour here we headed for lunch. We met 3 other Canadians all studying at UFT so we swapped some stories. After lunch we headed to a museum place which all of us opted not to go in and about an hour later we were at the Tiger Temple. We got to pet and take pictures with them. I really wanted to play with some baby ones but it was a no go it was an extra 1500b. We did see them at the museum stop though. The stories behind the tigers are that the monks have took care of them since they were young and their use to human contact and all that jazz. The brochure said they weren’t drugged but I don’t think nurturing animals would make them all that tame with humans. There is that youtube clip with Leo the Lion though so maybe. After the tiger temple we headed back. 2 people got off the bus and a guy and his wife joined us. The guy seriously reeked and it was a 3 hour bus ride back to Bangkok. I eventually got a short kip.

We got into Bangkok and I had a few more hours until my flight, I tried to find a cheap lonely planet and sort out accommodation but no luck. I ran out of time so I took a quick shower at the girls 2nd room after having to kill some cockroaches in their first room and ran to catch my taxi. I’m telling you catching flights just don’t work out so well with me. I knew my ticket was going to screw me up somehow cause I was suppose to leave on the 12th and after 2 hours and $30 later spent on the phone talking to Air India, Expedia and everyone else under the moon I got it ‘changed’ to the 15th. I tried to check in and they said I had to go talk to the office people, after an hour with them I managed to get on the plane. The plane was somewhat my first introduction to India, it was a really dodgy plane and the flight attendants were yelling at some passengers that were obviously too intoxicated. After a short 3 hour flight, 7 hour kip at the freezing cold airport and another debacle with the connecting flight resulting in a $11 change fee I was in Delhi.

upnext: Delhi

xx

kris



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0212s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb