Goodbye China


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 19th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First of all... sorry there haven't been pictures in a while... I haven't had enough time to sit and upload them. But there are picutres and one day all the entries will have pictures. In meanwhile, after two long days of busing I finally left China and entered Hong Kong. Crossing in to Hong Kong was like a breathe of fresh air (strictly figuratively though... the air is disgusting). The cars and buses drove in their lanes and the horrible honking stopped. I was thrown through a little loop when the final bus stop wsa in the middle of an intersection rather than at a station as I had no idea where I was but I managed to find a cab (they're everywhere until you need one) and get to the lovely hotel. I shared a room with two british girls travelling seperately to Australia. We went up the the peak and were planning to see the 8pm light show from kowloon but didn't make it in time so saw it from above - less impressive I think. We then had dinner and wandered over to the temple street night market which was a lot of fun before collapsing into bed. The next day we walked all over - Jade market, flower market and goldfish market. It was wonderful to be able to get on in english again but I miss the prices in China. Internet was ridiculously expensive so I just waited for thailand.
I flew emiates to Bangkok and it was pretty impressive.... very nice plane and they even have little star-like lights in the ceiling of the cabin. Personal TV too.
And on to Bangkok... I spent the first day not doing much. Needed a quiet day so I exchanged money, did laundry and did some minimal walking around. I met my group for the next 8 days and they all seem really nice. We went out for dinner and drinks last night and had a great time. One of the girls and I ran into these two welch guys eating grasshoppers and they felt very strongly that we should try some even though they looked about to throw up themselves. I didn't feel even remotely tempted. anyway, we're going to do some sighteeing today before heading out to chiang mai tonight.

Final Impressions of China: Glad I got to see it but I'm definitely not looking to travel there alone. It's far to difficult to get around (even though I've learned the numbers). Thinking a tour for May might be a good idea. I am looking forward to getting back to Beijing and seeing the Great Wall.

First Impressions of Bangkok: Definitely a party town... already seems like there constantly something amusing going around. Great for people watching. I have a feeling there well be lots of packages being sent home as the shopping here looks great.

Not much more to say right now... I'll add pictures soon.

Advertisement



21st February 2006

Shopping and stuff to do
Remember all of those wonderful gifts you said that you would bring back for your friends? Don't forget us :) Anyway, I asked my friend Nok to let me know if there are any "good deal" places to shop/eat/etc. Whenever she goes home to Bangkok, she always comes back with amazingly beautiful silks, jewelery, pottery, etc. Have fun!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0593s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb