1st Month In Bangkok


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
July 8th 2009
Published: July 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The "Beautiful" River in BangkokThe "Beautiful" River in BangkokThe "Beautiful" River in Bangkok

They dump all the water from the toilets in here. I bet you can just imagine the wonderful smells!
Hi
I am pulling out the journal, and writing all the little adventures I have had since landing in Bangkok.
Here goes:
Starting with the plane ride here:
I have to say it is the most beautiful sight. I went from Tucson Arizona to San Francisco. San Francisco to Beijing China. Beijing to Bangkok. We had to fly through Alaska, looking out my window was such a treat. The rifts in the ice were beautiful to follow, I don't believe that my camera did it justice.
I flew with Air China, very impressed with the food choice. I opted for vegetarian, always better when you don't know what your going to get.
It was funny, one of the 10 white people on the plane. Make sense.
The time difference really messes you up. 11 hours I believe. The first week my sleeping was very different. I just was so disoriented.
That first week, was really interesting trying to get used to the city, went right into orientation for my job, apartment hunting. All really fast paced.
I have to say had a little breakdown one day. The traffic is nuts here, everyone trying to run each other off the road. Motorcycle
MotorbikesMotorbikesMotorbikes

I will sometimes take one of these to the sky train. Really cheap, but not all that safe!
weaving in and out of traffic, I couldn't stand all the honking and the craziness. It is something that you get used to. Bangkok smells bad! It has a "river" going through it. Basically it is where they dump the toilet water, so you could imagine when that temperature goes up. Yum, heated up shit 😊 DELICIOUS! Dogs are everywhere. It was really sad at the beginning, I am not used to that. It is a part of life now. They stay out of your way and for the most part are very friendly. You won't see me petting one though.
Our apartment, Is a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom. The only thing we had to fight about was who gets the room with the single bed. At first it was just me having it, but I thought it would be fair if we pick straws... Beckie picked the single bed room. She bitched and complained for about 20 minutes, so when I couldn't stand it anymore I just took it.
P.S It is three girls who came from Canada, Sarah my best friend and her best friend Beckie, I didn't know Beckie before this trip.
So this is my room,
BTS Sky TrainBTS Sky TrainBTS Sky Train

This is what I take to work everyday. I love public transportation!
a wooden masterpiece in Ekkamai. It is a predominately Thai neighborhood. All the Thai clubs happen to be on our street. Sweeet. Except everyone is Thai and we don't speak the language.
Made a vow that first week to learn a new word everyday.... never happened. Can say that I have learned a few words. 😊
To this day, I still need to get shelves for my closet, all my clothes are just piled on top of each other. Just like at home right pops?

INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT BATHROOMS IN THAILAND
INTERESTING FACT ABOUT THAILAND: They normally shower in the middle of their bathrooms, showers are not separate like in Canada and the US. It is just a flexible shower head in the middle of your bathroom. Which leads me to
INTERESTING FACT NUMBER 2: They don't use toilet paper very often. (In most public bathrooms they do) Even for number 2, they will use a spray.
INTERESTING FACT NUMBER 3: They throw away toilet paper after using it. They don't flush it down the toilet.
INTERESTING FACT NUMBER 4 ABOUT BATHROOMS will be brought up at a later date. (It involves Sarah peeing on her face... ) (It is good I promise)


Amberly



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

HeinekenHeineken
Heineken

All made out of Heineken cans
Ronald McDonals Ronald McDonals
Ronald McDonals

Yes, I guess his position changes from country to country. This is how Thai people greet each other, with a wai
MarketMarket
Market

First trip to the Market near my house!


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb