Full circle!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
May 11th 2009
Published: May 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello strangers, thought I better inform you all I am still alive and kicking and completed my full circle and now back in the crazy city of Bangkok where I started 10 weeks ago. What a journey. Parents are off doing the sights today-palace and temples but as I am a little "templed out" I've taken a day out to enjoy the hotel-making full use of spa facilities and having my final chill before returning to real world. Also ventured out into the city and took a tuk tuk alone, a far more scary experience alone I can tell you-I was asked lots of questions on my journey (of which I obviously haggled the far with expertise!) , my occupation, whether I was alone traveller-it was at this point when the mention of gem shops/family member stops seemed to become prominent and so I quickly changed my story to meeting more friends downtown, including thai friends....the things you have to do to escape a tuk tuk! One lesson I've learnt well. We arrived in bangkok yesterday afternoon and headed straight out to the Chakachuta weekend market that Kat and I missed.....unfortunately we also headed straight into a monsoon! We shopped and haggled til we dropped, into 1 of the food courts where we all grabbed a bowl or plate of ???, back to floaters and thai flavours :-) and then bartered our 1st tuk tuk family experience-Mum had no choice-Dad I jumped in as the taxis were maximising on the monsoon and charging triple fares. We were already wet so we might as well take a tuk tuk! Not sure Mum agreed but she survived to tell the tale and quite enjoyed it secretly! Back in the comforts of our hotel we decided our 1st night should be spent at Patpong (the sleaze district) as kat and I didn't get chance to experience it 1st time around. I think I'll leave the full details of this evenings events to tell you all in person as 1) Hilarious, 2) Scary and 3) Not wanting to worry you. Don't worry we WON'T be heading back and we all survived to tell the tale. Let me just tell you 1 thing-it involved go-go dancers, ping pong shows and 2 very scary thai women who blocked our exit. As I said details when I see you but we handled situation very well and finally exited from 1 of my most scary experiences, promptly jumped into a taxi back to safetly of hotel where Mum needed a stiff drink and dad and I a very strong cuppa!!! Now thats got you all thinking.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb