Thai Massage and Snake Farm


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
February 2nd 2005
Published: February 2nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hello
My turn (Caroline). Today decided to take it easy. Quelled the rising anxiety about leaving tomorrow and trying to get more shopping in, although dont' really have anything specific left to buy. I'm sure I can find something.....to which Ken makes a variety of pig like grunting noises..
The dress is not exactly as I expected but it is very beautiful (and couldn't beat the price). I really wanted 2-ply rough silk but they said that it wouldn't work well with a dress (although I think that is what the dress I tried on was made from....) but who am I to argue with the professionals??

Found out at the last moment that I could have had custom made leather shoes covered in Thai silk also, but I'll just get some at home. The bridesmaids dresses are also very beautiful, I just hope they fit...Ken was very traditional and didn't come into the shop for the fitting, but I have to admit it was weird to get fitted alone for my wedding dress, so I'll have to have a "mock" fitting back in Calgary.

So, today went to the Pasteur institute snake farm where they collect venom to make antivenom. Saw the biggest venomous snake - I couldn't believe the King Cobra (which had a "very nice disposition") with some idiots taking photos 1-2 feet from its head! (not ken, don't worry C and Mrs R.)I got to get my photo with it with the handler holding its head. Also saw some siamese cobras and some pit vipers. Very interesting facility. 6000 people in Thailand bitten by snakes every year, most don't die because of antivenom. This facility is also in conjunction with the STD facility, very close to Patpong ( sex district - which was also a very sad experience to walk through but really necessary as part of the "bangkok" experience)

Then went for a 2hr Thai massage. At one point I seriously considered my options if my masseuse broke my ribs. I feel good now, like you would if you were run through a juicer.

Off to the hotel to relax (maybe I can sneak out and shop some more while ken...oh , forget it)
Then off to Sentosa Island in Singapore (we stay there one night, thanks for the tip Doug.) Glad to hear you guys had fun in Cuba, can't wait to see the pics and hear the stories.

Anyway, that's enough blabbing, by the way we're definitely going to the Berkely North Face outlet (the store behind the legendary $15 down jacket) so email any gear requests, price you would pay and size ASAP and I'll see what I can do....

Caroline

Advertisement



2nd February 2005

down jacket
hey check what they have for down vests...check out how they fit...most likely a large...but maybe even check out a men's medium to make sure it's long inthe body, but if they fit small then go bigger! black is the prefered choice obviously, as i'm black inside...but if you can find one that's cheap...you're a bargain shopper, than totally hook me up...i would totally appreciate it for the trip to nepal! thanks buddy, c u soon, xoxo nickers - nickers
3rd February 2005

Sentosa Island - Singapore
Hey guys, hope you like sentosa island. I loved the cable car ride over to the island over the "world trade center". Hope you get a chance to check out the butterfly garden (if its still there) and do some of the hikes. Its probably a little tame compared to what you've seen so far, but its a good way to wind down for your trip back to Canada! Give us a call when you get home and sorted out again. Best wishes for a safe trip back. - Doug and Vita. - Doug and Vita

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb