The Begining


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
November 9th 2008
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Background Kolkata/Calcutta



It was a time when the recession poured in to Indian economy from America when I geared my first foreign trip. Months of ifs and buts plans of execution ended after one full year of wait. Everytime I was dragged and demotivated by jealous ambience and drop in attendance of friend who got exited by the idea of travel but lack in determination for the execution. Finally, I booked my flight tickets at Air India Express one fine evening and then then next day I applied for my visa at Thai consultate. I received my visa the next day though the only problem which I faced I did not have much time to change currency from Indian rupees in the city.

9th November Dawn Breaks at Kolkata



Here I stand at the brim of my first solo International Trip breaching all the ties that held me back.
Early morning 5:30 am, I waved off my mother and was picked up chauffeur of office cab. Onway to airport, around 6:00 am I headed to ATM center to withdraw cash. The drive to airport was smooth and reached before time. Friends suggested to change currency at airport in case of immergency but Kolkata Airport being a truly world class one! No open currency exchanger was visible in early morning hours. The baggage check baggage also didnot start at scheduled time and so waited patiently for one hour before the proceedings and when the activity finally kicked off I faced the arduous taks of opening up the entire rucksack to show belonginging, tripod, medicine and so on for check. Immigration check followed when I caught a glimpse of all the travellers turned up. The represnted a group and later realised they were from Andhra, from some seedy tourist agency. As I boarded the flight I found they represent the majority and even two of them sat by me. It was strange as they more like Japanese travellers all clicks rught from start to end of journey and one dude even pasted me to my seat with his shoulder as he plunged on top of me to take photos. A bollywood movie played on mounted automated LCD screens of flight was an average one charged and none paid a 1 dollar for earphones to listen to crappy movie dialouge. Food was served unlike other budget airlines which was a big surprise but quality was not worth mention. As we pass by coast of Bay of Bengal, Bangladesh and Myanmar the arial view was worth watching with changing landscapes of deltas, rivers, shallow hills. As we neared Bangkok the view abruptly changed to urban one ranging from mamoth buildings, roads and astounding architectures. The roads didnot look like a underdeveloped country by any means.

Bangkok finally as smooth as silk


I had no idea about the mamoth size of the Bangkok Airport and naturally when I stepped out I was clueless but luckily I followed the signs and finished my passport check after a long stand in queue. While chosing a random fictituous place of stay at Bangkok I got my immigration clearance done. I was confused further as to collect my backpack with the countless number of multiple baggage counters people arriving from virtually locations in world. But then there was a big set back. No exchange was ready to accept Indian currency not even the ones located outsde. I got a lifeline as I managed to withdraw some cash in baht from ATM machines at airport and then get my prepaid card for mobile activated. It took me a while to locate way out through winding signed escalators to gate no 10 after. I spotted and got in a metered taxi to go to bank to convert Indian currency at Sukhumvit without much bargain with the driver as I worried about the cash I carried. Unfortunately it was Sunday being all banks closed and was left at the mercy of cab driver who looted me at every step first each toll collection points of 10 bath and 45 baht and then for his taxi fare a mamoth 350 bahts and refused to produce the charge as per meter. The bank Krung Thai Bank at Pratunam Center suggested by airport authorities was closed as expected when I reached Sukhumvit. I expressed my frustration and asked the cab driver to locate a currency exchanger to "change my currency" he misunderstood it for a "dress change" and I was deported to some street shops displaying clothes. Realising his tricks I asked him to drop me at MBK mall which he shameless asked for 150 bahts more. I reaslised he was the biggest prank star. I got down immediately and withrew some more currency. The Sukhumvit area was full of money exhangers but dissapointing that all board signs mentioned "no Indian rupees"! With heavy backpack and all other goods I was carrying, I wondered where to run for shelter. Running up and down the narrow streets full of thai touts and tourists it was difficult to spot a bank or hotel. So I tried to get into the "Sky" hotel which is apparently the tallest building of all Bangkok for accomodation only to realise that the rates are exceptionally high - 4k bahts, 5k bahts for standard room single and that too at near the bottom of building. I tried my luck to get some discounts on room tariffs but it was still a lot higher that internet rates at websites - 3.5k bahts for a room! On a exhausted and hopeless walk up the main road my eyes caught up on an Indian restaurant. I asked for currncy exchange near by only to find that he can do the exchange himself. Not a a great rate though baht = 1.4 rupees he charged for 1.8 rupee. But atleast I was lot relieved and got my senses and vigor back. On way out I got a tip on direction of MBK and the taxi will charge just 60 bahts to drive there. But I was dissapointed again no on was going kept on walking and checking malls. I went to Pantip Plaza checked all stalls in electronices goods, Sony, Canon latest EOS 50D was available. Not much tourist in there but again I spotted lots of Farangs hanging around with Thai ladies and there was more increased number of Japanese lady tourists, high fashionale trendy cool and sexy looking ones. Looks like they spend a lot on beautification. I spotted EOS 50 D which was about 47,000 baht kit, SOny SD 12 R 48 K baht. The discounts were very less. There were some local brands asw ell but HD camera quality was no good and cannot be trusted. The lady at the camcorder shop who was giving discounted kept smiling at me.Then I took a 60 baht tuktuk to MBK. The place first hit MBK mall was a Sony camcorder shop on 2nd floor up the stairs. Je excplained everything then I relised that the camcorder uses memory stick one normal SD card will not work. So I moved on various restaruants and Japanese sushi bars. Italian, Thai restaurants and a lot of camera shops. Finally I got in Power Buy shop but the Thai attendant didnot understand English. I tried to explain somthing while I tried to ask for something. They had HD cameras but again I realsied they have good cmaeras. Luckily someone who is expert in it got me a great camera, plus dicount, 8 gb and 4 gb free sd cards, a tripod, plus travel rebet. As I went out I tried to look for accomodation at Khao San road no one was going.Luckily I met a long blond haired guy pretty much my height and a brunnette girl. He asked me if I were going to Khao San road. There was nice alliance and help came from nowhere they were Jason and Seol from Argetnina and they were on last few days in Thailand. They started in Malaysia and whent to Bangkok train to Chaing Mai and Surat Thani and Ko Phi Phi now back and heading tomorow to New Zealand. We pais eqaully finally at ;ast got a meterd taxi and learnt trcks about travel I even ended up staying at their hotel as cheap as 250 bahts. Cold shower single bed and safe depost down. No window though. But it was cool. At least I didnot get a room which an north american lady got. She was stuck in an room where AC didnot work though ac showed 18 degrees but didnot cool and she has broken toe finger which she injured at Chiang Mai trekking in Chiang Mai after covering entire covering south insland PHi Phi islands.It was nice talking to her.

I went out and had my first look of Khao San road. These was once a bag packers heaven now what remains is a Farang joint. where people from round the globe and have lots of beers and watch european soccer. I went out to one of the off beat roads and tasted my first Thai food. It was an Thai tape noodles with eggs, chilly flakes, vinegar, vegetables, chicken praws and thai sauces and sugar.

I spent more time walking in night and drinking Pomegrante juice. At 2 am in the night I got out to have a walk in the street again and see the place.It was a great experience when much of the tourists has left the place.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.057s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb