Around the World... again!


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 2nd 2008
Published: December 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bahian MoonBahian MoonBahian Moon

Plaza in Salvador

Of Endings, and of new Beginnings!



So, with a note of tristesse, I must officially inform that my round-the-world ticket has just expired...
On November 22nd, exactly a year had passed since I had gotten on the plane at Heathrow, on my way to Antananarivo.

This last leg was from Salvador de Bahia, Brasil, back to London, effectively closing the loop.

End of trip. Basta. Finito.

For a nostalgic recap, I re-read my posts, looked at the photos, saw the amount of wonderful people I met, the exciting and thrilling 'alive' moments from Madagascar to South Africa alone, yet, always in good company.

Of India with all of its idiosyncratic paradoxes and family fun...

Of Thailand with the quality of life, the harmony and good cheer...

Of suffering Cambodia and the children who are creating a new country from the ashes...

Singapore Sling and a football game...

Surf in Sydney with Paella and great company, Flying in New Zealand singing through the camping sites in the rain...

Fiji and the village experience, just say "Bula!"

Californian reunions and famous people...

...followed by Guatemalan reflections of a life once
CrownCrownCrown

Coco King!
lived, through Belizean traffic and onto Mexican beaches and temples.

With the whole of South America beckoning and only the ruins of Peru, the social club of Argentina and the dunes of Bolivia under my belt, Brazil had to be the cherry on the pie... and it was!

Yet, that nagging thought at the back of my mind, "there is still so much to see! So much to do!"

And, the ticket was calling and there was no re-scheduling, postponing or delaying...

The deadline had arrived!

Time to go home, if I know where that is...

So

I

Went

To

Salvador...

and got on the plane,

NOT!


I just couldn't do it!

Didn't want to, didn't need to, didn't feel like it!

So, I just didn't.

I lost the ticket and chose to keep on traveling!

I decided to heck with deadline... give me LIFELINE!

I feel that the real trip begins now!

You see, I had calculated my finances to last me until the end of the trip with a cushion for re-acclimatization, but, thanks to the stock market
Moving FruitMoving FruitMoving Fruit

Ananas and an Ass
fun, that cushion has vanished into cyber-space!

Which means that it is time to start traveling in a new way, paying as I go, earning as I travel... what an adventure and challenge!

A new beginning!

I bet you are curious as to how I manage this one...

Smiles, as always, for miles!

Melchior


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Up...side...Up...side...
Up...side...

Capoeira?
Down!Down!
Down!

Flying, or not?
Gnome HomeGnome Home
Gnome Home

Arembepe hippy abode
LookoutLookout
Lookout

Save the Turtles!
AldeiaAldeia
Aldeia

Hippy town from afar
Mr. EdMr. Ed
Mr. Ed

Where's my lunch?
BridgeBridge
Bridge

From here to there, helpful always.
AhhhAhhh
Ahhh

No words
AloneAlone
Alone

Waiting for the sea...
Three AmigosThree Amigos
Three Amigos

Race to the sea!
ReadyReady
Ready

In case of Flood in Sao Paulo
PlazaPlaza
Plaza

Naturally Bolivia
Plaza tooPlaza too
Plaza too

Life in the square
HomeHome
Home

Where I lay my head...for now
Sunset MarketSunset Market
Sunset Market

Bolivian street


2nd December 2008

yO!
well done bro! keep on spinning around the world!
2nd December 2008

=)
Wooooow !!!! Quiero saber como continuará la historia de "Willy Melchior Fog". Una propuesta, amic. Abre una cuenta bancaria donde podamos aportar algún €/$. NO como limosna, NO como caridad... en mi caso sería para seguir leyendo tus historias alrededor del mundo. Sería una aportación para seguir disfrutando nosotos de tu viaje.... think about it, my friend !!! Una abraçada forta. =) Ramon
3rd December 2008

Just keep on going!
THis is great news!!! I was hoping to share an apartment in Singapore with you in Jully but i don't want a roaming hippy in my house!!! lol. I think you should try to get sponsored by miles traveled!!! Keep telling wonderful stories and i'll sponsor you!! May your adventure never end!!! Abrazos
3rd December 2008

Surprises ......
Good to read yr lines .... I'm in Washington DC now ... Silas critically injured ... I feel so annoyed with blind Politicians ... none of this should ever have happened ... what is the Point ? Toad Talibans lay IED's to harm these Soldiers, some of them just KIDS .... it stinks.
3rd December 2008

Make the most of every day!
found your blog as i was sat at home, in dubai, bored. Fantastic decision to keep travelling and if you are ever here, get in touch
3rd December 2008

I love surprise endings...
...and beginnings. Keep on truckin' There is one place you missed, however. It is Thornton, Pennsylvania. While not as exotic as Bolivia or Guatemala, it's home to us and to you if you choose to join us here. Love, Jean and Gerry
4th December 2008

Thank you!
4th December 2008

Great!
Que envidia!!!! Great decision! You just keep on going till you feel it has been enough... I felt like you, not knowing where my home is... but I think I found it... again...!!! And it feels great! Whenever you're perhaps in South Africa again, please let me know. Un abrazo fuerte y sigue con los blogs tan interesantes!
4th December 2008

respect
You go with the flow!! Great choice, great personality, respect!! Always welcome in Amsterdam too. x Ines
5th December 2008

the adventure continues
Fun photos! Well no surprises there. I didn't think you'd be back yet. Glad your adventure continues, one way or another. lots of love, karuna
6th December 2008

Son felice per te...
Mel, se hai bisogno di qualche biglietto da 100 fammi sapere. Via mail o via telepatia. Con affetto
11th December 2008

now comes Astral Travels..?
Now , we are all hooked!!... working papers? escudos is it.. ! wonderful writing and fotos Mon Melchior..and so heart warming to see how many good friends around the world you have made.. there for you if needed !! How is the new coaching work going? Big hugs ,tons of luck and Kisses..de tu mama
12th December 2008

determination is the best
creo Meltxor "rey de la luz" que no estás viajando alrededor del mundo, sino que es el mundo el que está haciéndolo a través de ti. una causa así ya está trayendo sin duda un efecto maravilloso. pero el beneficio de tu valor, pureza e intención volverá con fuerza multiplicado por más de lo que podamos imaginar. Vive tu realidad del modo más amplio y potente! sueña! te querré siempre

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.035s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0779s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb