Leaving Bangkok for Koh Samui today


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » Central Thailand » Bangkok
December 16th 2005
Published: December 16th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today at 1700 I am catching the overnight bus/ferry to Koh Samui where I will be for a week. Really looking forward to getting back to Chaweng Beach, which is 3 miles long. This is where I do my morning jog at 6 am. Sure beats jogging along Candlewood Lake this time of year! This was one of the highlights of my trip last year and hope it will be this year as well.



Last night I went out to dinner with Wan, the woman I met on the Chao Phraya express boat earlier in the week. We went to an outdoor restaurant in the Khao San area. Good food and great conversation. I am slowly but surely getting accostomed to eating the Thai way, which involves using the spoon to put food into your mouth instead of the fork.



Yesterday I went to the Tourist Police to put in a complaint about the problem I had with the paintings I ordered from the South African man here in Bangkok last year. They actually took me with 2 police officers and an interpreter to his home and place of business, but he was not at either place. The police ordered the landlord to telephone them when he returns. I had low expectations of any results but the quick and very thorough response of the Bangkok Tourist Police was first rate. I could not have asked them to do more for me. If you have any issues in your stay here, I highly recommend using this unit of the Bangkok police.



I haven't taken any pics lately but that will change when i get to Koh Samui tomorrow.



That's it for now.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1228s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb